Hacking semi bricked wii

litloo

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
so... i'm totally new to this mod stuff and i tried to just search for it but i couldn't quite find the info and i don't want to accidentally brick it permanently :(
i bought the wii in taiwan (asia), somehow hacked or moded as we played downloaded games on it, but its probably japanese. now we cant play bought games as they are european, so i bought a sd card and wanted to play games through that. i started looking on how to install homebrew and hackmii and twillight channel and all that, but i discovered when i tried to find what version i have that the wii is semi bricked, as i can't go in to my system settings. i found out that i should reinstall my stystem menu, but i dont know what version i had before, how to reinstall or whether i should install homebrew or hackmii first so i dont brick it permanently. also can i install all this with the sd card? and in what order shold install it all with?
i'm sorry i know its a lot of questions but im so lost about this so if you know just a little bit i would appreciate the help and maybe i can find the rest with google or something? :S
thanks in advance

mauifrog

DA KINE WiiHacker
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
Try to install hackmii with bannerbomb v2. You load it from the sd menu at the bottom of the channel menu. If you get error 004 your on 4.3, if you don't have the sd menu your 3.x. Once you get the HBC installed load wiimod. In wiimod go to the advanced menu, region settings. The region settings will tell you what region the settings are, then just install the proper system ios and system menu. Also be aware of the possibility that the wii could be korean. Installing a non korean menu 4.2+ can brick them.
You can check the wii's original region with http://www.hacksden.com/showthread....ct-any-Wii-s-original-region?highlight=korean