Secret of Mana Text Problem

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by CorvoSol, Dec 24, 2011.

Dec 24, 2011

Secret of Mana Text Problem by CorvoSol at 3:28 AM (2,535 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. CorvoSol
    OP

    Newcomer CorvoSol Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    Hey! I'm trying to run Secret of Mana in SNEmulDS, and most places say it runs fairly well. The game boots, but the problem I'm having is that, when played in an emulator on my PC, the text is fine, but when played in SNEmulDS, the text comes out as random gibberish. I've tried downloading multiple versions of the ROM, and the same thing happens each time.

    Does anybody know how I can fix this?
     
  2. bradzx

    Member bradzx x-Darkie-x

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,936
    Location:
    Ponyville
    Country:
    United States
    I suggest to use your pc to play that game. They dont much update for SNEemulDS.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Hm, I vaguely remember this game being a particular challenge for SNES emulators due to that text issue. Something to do with the resolution of the text layer. Unfortunately I can't remember what the fix was, if there was one to begin with.

    See if this helps at all: http://www.pocketheaven.com/ph/boards/viewtopic.php?t=6018
     
  4. CorvoSol
    OP

    Newcomer CorvoSol Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    Well, after tinkering around, I've found out that the actual in-game text works, like all the story related stuff, but that the menus are still some kind of Lovecraftian horror.
    In a similar vein, is there any SNES emulator for GBA, DS, or PSP that is capable of running Secret of Mana 2? SNemulDS doesn't seem to like it at all.
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Emulation_on_PSP
    First emulator there runs it fine IIRC. I haven't played past the intro on it.

    As for the DS, the one for the DSTwo (CatSFC) might, I'm not sure on that.
     
  6. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,297
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    You're probably referring to the high resolution mode 7 effects the game uses (menu/status screen and so on) and SNEmulDS being the super-outdated emulator it is, you're better off using something like Snes9x 1.53.
     
  7. CorvoSol
    OP

    Newcomer CorvoSol Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    But does SNES9x run on a DS? That's the thing I'm looking for.
     
  8. Sir VG

    Member Sir VG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    The major emulators I've seen for the DS have been dead for years, unfortunately. SNEmulDS and SnezziDS have last update of 2008, SNESDS had a low compatibility and also was last updated in 2008, and I see no ports of ZSNES or SNES9x to the DS. The only emulator I see updated in the last 3 years is one specifically for the DSTwo, called DSTwo NDSSFC.

    If you have that cart, try it.
     
  9. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,297
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    There's also CATSFC, which I believe they're working on, but I'm not sure about NDSSFC, Snes9x? I doubt they could port that over, unless they made a crapload of optimizing, and taking advantage of the extra CPU power on the DSTWO, it could be done in theory. Snes9x is the most ported Snes emulator, so why not?
     
  10. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    My understanding that the Supercard-provided SNES emulator is already a port of snes9X that uses the DS:TWO's extra processing power. CATSFC is an upgraded version of that emulator to try to increase compatibility. Neither will help you for any non-DS:TWO device.
     
  11. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,297
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, the DS's native processing power just isn't up to par.
     
  12. CorvoSol
    OP

    Newcomer CorvoSol Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    But on the PSP my chances of emulating the SNES are better, right?
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Much, much better. Hell, it even runs Star Fox (slowly).
     
  14. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Yep. Shame that my attempts at speedhacking Star Fox seemed to do absolutely nothing for PSP users. Probably required someone who actually understands the assembly code for the SNES's CPU >_>
     
  15. ScarletCrystals

    Member ScarletCrystals Useless Bunny of Paradise

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    941
    Location:
    Bamboo Forest, Gensokyo
    Country:
    Canada
    Unfortunately, text doesn't display properly in CATSFC. Something to do with the font that the translation used. I heard somewhere that the japanses one works though *unsure*

    edit: Nevermind, wrong game. Although secret of mana 2 also doesn't work on NDS emulators.
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    No he means the first game not the second, and the issue is it switches to the pseudo-hires mode for the text.
     

Share This Page