Save from .ISO wont work with retail UMD

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by sonknuck23, Sep 8, 2010.

Sep 8, 2010
  1. sonknuck23
    OP

    Member sonknuck23 Mighty Switch Force >

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey, just writing for a friend. He had gotten a copy of KH: BBS, and he's been playing it on 5.00M33-6 + Prometheus hack/patch, And he managed to save just fine and was able to replay his saves from the .ISO. He purchased the retail copy, (what a good guy!) and now his save doesn't run. To add to that, he says that when he saves with the .ISO, the save file is only 288kb, but the back of the retail box says the save should be 576kb.

    As well, he transferred his .iso from his 8gb to his 4gb, and he transferred his save data as well, and it still wouldn't load EVEN WITH the .iso!!! So he can ONLY run it off the 8gb Card.

    Any idea what the deal is? Thanks in advance, temperrrss.

     


  2. MissingNo._

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    I thought it should've been smaller due to the patch...
    And what .ISO and UMD is he using? English? Japanese?
     
  3. sonknuck23
    OP

    Member sonknuck23 Mighty Switch Force >

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    English. If you want, I can ask him the exact release or something hah
     
  4. MissingNo._

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah... English for both the .ISO and UMD?
     
  5. sonknuck23
    OP

    Member sonknuck23 Mighty Switch Force >

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeap. NTSC-U.
     
  6. MissingNo._

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    Did his save run the first time with the UMD? Or did it just not load at all?
     
  7. sonknuck23
    OP

    Member sonknuck23 Mighty Switch Force >

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    Didn't load at all. And now; He just texted me and said it showed up but said it was corrupted.
     
  8. MissingNo._

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    First of all, I think that he should try reformating the 4GB card since the save didn't load there.
    Was 288kb the file size after or before he tried loading the save with the UMD?

    EDIT: Nice talking with you.
    EDIT 2: I love how 2 Guests are reading this. Do you guys perhaps have the same problem?
    EDIT 3: [​IMG]
    EDIT 4: I'M TALKING TO ALL OF YA

    EDIT 0: ENOUGH
    EDIT 0.5: DON'T *scribbles*
     
  9. Teny

    Member Teny GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United States
    What prometheus method is he using? The install or the plugin?
     
  10. MissingNo._

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    I... never though about it that way. Don't answer my last question, then.
     
  11. sonknuck23
    OP

    Member sonknuck23 Mighty Switch Force >

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    He just texted me: He installed m33-Prometheus and then he patched BBS with "ISO Tool". So In that case, he used the install.
     
  12. Syfe

    Newcomer Syfe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey, I'm the one having the issue with the saves so is there anyone who knows a solution to the problem?
     
  13. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    just to reaffirm... you are copying both save folders over correct? not just the system data?
     
  14. Syfe

    Newcomer Syfe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Canada
    yes, actually I made multiple saves so I transferred them all over to the other memory stick
     
  15. Madridi

    Member Madridi Card Collector

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,425
    Location:
    Doha
    Country:
    Qatar
    I read somewhere that the iso out there is not retail (promo or something). So it might be that the save file is not compatible with retail .. I donno, just a thought
     
  16. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    well, the game IDs match so it's probably an issue with it the saves being created on CFW or with prometheus.
     
  17. Syfe

    Newcomer Syfe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Canada
    but how does that answer the fact that when I load the game with an already patched iso on another memory stick the save data still won't load?
     
  18. sonknuck23
    OP

    Member sonknuck23 Mighty Switch Force >

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    Syfe, let me know what happens after, I'm going to bed. Later.
     
  19. Syfe

    Newcomer Syfe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Canada
    :\ noob. k night.
     
  20. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    are both isos patched in exactly the same manner?
     

Share This Page