sav files not loading

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Azure42893, Apr 5, 2010.

Apr 5, 2010

sav files not loading by Azure42893 at 8:18 AM (1,475 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Azure42893
    OP

    Newcomer Azure42893 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Lately, I've found that some of my games (Pokemon Platinum, Kirby Super Star Ultra, Bomberman Land Touch! 2, and Advance Wars: Days of Ruin so far) don't load up saves that they used to use. Instead, a new .sav is created for some odd reason. Both the old and new .sav files are 512kb. Is it because the old .sav files are pre-AKAIO 1.6RC2 (or w/e the latest version is
     
  2. obito

    Member obito I can have a title?! :O

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Are the sav file names the same as the ds names?


    Eg


    pokemon platinum.nds

    And

    pokemon platinum (u).sav


    If the names are different, change one to match them up.
     
  3. Azure42893
    OP

    Newcomer Azure42893 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Oops, forgot to mention that. Yes they are.

    EDIT: Hmm...I think I figured out my problem. The old save files are .SAV and not .sav
     
  4. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    .SAV or .sav?

    I'm assuming you came from 1.5.1?
    IIRC after something it makes new saves it if its not .sav
    Don't know if this is relevant to your problem.
     
  5. Azure42893
    OP

    Newcomer Azure42893 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    I guess this is it :'D

    I'm going back and renaming all the files, but I'm having something odd happening. I'm going through the list, deleting the .sav copies so that I can rename the .SAV ones. However, when I delete the .sav, the .SAV gets deleted too.

    EDIT: Looks like renaming them doesn't work either.
     
  6. kasek

    Member kasek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Canada
    im having same problem did you ever fix it
     
  7. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Before you delete or rename anymore, why don't you type Dir /x into a command prompt and post the results.
     
  8. kasek

    Member kasek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Canada
    i dont understand what that shows that will help
     
  9. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes it probably won't help, but no one else has any better suggestions. If you want people to have an idea of the problem, they will need to know what's happening.

    It will show the short files for the files. AKAIO has a tendancy to create save files with an uppercase SAV file extension if the NDS rom is a short file name, or a lowercase sav file extension if it's a longfile name. Technically that's what it should so, in short filename there shouldn't be any case sensitivity at all.

    The problem seems to come with people who import saves from R4's, some of those use files with the uppercase SAV extension regardless if it's a short filename or a longfilename.

    If deleting a sav file deletes a corrosponding SAV file, then it could be down to a longfilename association error.
     
  10. kasek

    Member kasek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Canada
    o ok well mine is using both of those types SAV and sav i was using the Acekard official firmware before this
     

Share This Page