running Jpn demos

Discussion in 'PS Vita - Games & Content' started by buckweed187, Feb 24, 2012.

Feb 24, 2012

running Jpn demos by buckweed187 at 6:51 AM (1,966 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. buckweed187
    OP

    Newcomer buckweed187 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    after looking at the vita profile problem (i.e. profile/format/memory card etc.)

    I decided to go on my Jpn account on my ps3,but a update had locked out my ip address so no vita menus on psn....

    so i made a new Jpn account and downloaded some Jpn demos lastnight.

    tried to connect my vita(eng account) but once i selected the demos to copy.my vita told me the games up and i can't play a demo from another account

    but i'm just wondering (don't have time to look now)

    if you can maybe edit the demo on a pc transfer some how then trick the vita to thinking its from the same account ?
    (download a english demo and Jpn and compare data...)

    not really sure why a region free handheld would stop you playing Jpn/us demos....

    if anyone has time to mess around with this let me know.

    also the volume on headset seems very low,can't find a setting for bluetooth devices on the system..

    apart from these little things i'm loving my vita :)
     
  2. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    The systems aren't region locked, but the PSN accounts are. The only way to play Japanese PSN on a US vita is to format the Vita and then login to your japanese PSN account. VERY annoying... but unless Sony patches the Vita to allow for multiple PSN accounts, there is nothing anyone can do about it.
     
  3. LegendarySkitch

    Newcomer LegendarySkitch Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    If your format your Vita and use a Japanese PSN then download the demos and reformat your Vita (but not your memory stick) and use your US/European PSN then you can keep the Japanese demos and use them. It's pretty nice but you can't use Japanese DLC or downloaded games, just free stuff. It's nice having niconico on my Vita though
     
  4. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Could someone list the avaible demo's for japan?

    I may consider downloading those and create a japanese account
     
  5. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    Have you confirmed this? I was under the impression (and have had several people in the forum say) that even demos downloaded from the PSN are not compatible when you switch PSN accounts.
     
  6. djricekcn

    Member djricekcn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    some demos that i remember
    lord of apocalypse
    katamari nobita
    gravity daze
    ragnarok odyssey
    super star dust
    tales of innocence r
    sumioni
    zennin shiboudesu
    uncharted
     
  7. LegendarySkitch

    Newcomer LegendarySkitch Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    Yes I have confirmed it. I have the Japanese Gravity Daze, Dynasty Warriors Next, Kyokugen Dasshutsu Adv and Lord of Apocalypse demos on my US Vita and I have the niconico app all working while under my US PSN ID alongside US apps like Netflix
     
  8. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome, good to know (have another account setup, but wasn't willing to download demos just to have them locked when I switched back).
     
  9. 3020

    Member 3020 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Turn around
    Country:
    Canada
    How does the noconico app work? Do I need an account to use it?
     
  10. djricekcn

    Member djricekcn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    yes, you need a niconico account to use it.
     
  11. No Name Trowa Barton

    Member No Name Trowa Barton Namaiki iun-ja naiyo™

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    985
    Location:
    the whole world is in my hands.
    Country:
    United States
    the ???????app and friendship network are the only things keeping me on the japanese PSN >.
     
  12. schmammal

    Newcomer schmammal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    yeah no。 sony says no, because they are fagatonic bitchwipples! あおすけ rests。
     

Share This Page