Rune Factory 2: Undub

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by TyRaNtM, Nov 20, 2008.

Nov 20, 2008

Rune Factory 2: Undub by TyRaNtM at 2:52 AM (34,091 Views / 0 Likes) 73 replies

  1. TyRaNtM
    OP

    Member TyRaNtM I did some projects..

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    Well, Rune Factory 2 US is out. Like the first one, this come only with english dub.

    I manage to swap the Japanese sound_data.sdat in the US rom with Nitro Explorer. This work perfect.
    The problem is the intro movie that don't work.

    Video files are .vx with codec called Actimagine (VXDS), and the only .vx files are:

    - RUNE2A_02.vx
    - RUNE2B_02.vx
    - rf2_ed_top.vx
    - rf2_ed_bottom.vx


    The problem is, that the files RUNE2A_02.vx and RUNE2B_02.vx aren't VXDS in the US rom, are MODSN3.
    Also exist a file called RUNE2A_02.mods that have 0 bits, this file is new in the US rom.

    MODSN3 what codec is it? :S
     


  2. johnsmith

    Newcomer johnsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Will you upload a patch with only the audio swapped? I've been trying to pack a rom with the jp audio sdat file switched over, but for some reason, whenever I pack a rom together (not just this rom, even other files, older ones that work fine) the re-packed rom won't run on NO$GBA or my R4 cart. The unmodified files work fine. Any rom that I unpack and repack though, even if I don't change anything, just whitescreens.

    In short, can you upload a patch to swap the sound?
     
  3. TyRaNtM
    OP

    Member TyRaNtM I did some projects..

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    If you recommend me a program to make a patch, sure i can.
     
  4. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    You are requesting a rom.
     
  5. johnsmith

    Newcomer johnsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure what you mean.

    In your original post you said you swapped the sound_data.sdat files and it worked perfectly.

    Can you upload ****** er, a patch, for us, even though you're having problems with the video?

    Posts merged

    Oh right, sorry about that.
     
  6. TyRaNtM
    OP

    Member TyRaNtM I did some projects..

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    I'm having trouble trying to make a patch of the file modified.
    Can anyone suggest me a patcher creator program for ds?
     
  7. Caede

    Newcomer Caede Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
  8. TyRaNtM
    OP

    Member TyRaNtM I did some projects..

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
  9. SkyintheSea

    Member SkyintheSea GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    America
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks a lot for making the patch. The English voices started to get annoying.
     
  10. Nayr Rosfar

    Member Nayr Rosfar White Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Wherever the next link takes me.
    Country:
    United States
    I like the English voices.

    Its better than voices that sound like they are speaking gibberish.
     
  11. Forte Dante

    Newcomer Forte Dante Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Not when they all sound like they're sitting there reading a script for the first time. I'd prefer to hear gibberish there, at least the gibberish might sound like someone's trying to talk.
     
  12. Noitora

    Member Noitora ::

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    I'm not going to bother reading the other posts, the following might work:
    Get arm9.bin and the movie files from the (J) rom and replace the arm9.bin from the (J) rom to the (U) also delete the movie files in the (U) rom and place the (J) ones there instead.
     
  13. Nekoxid

    Newcomer Nekoxid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Japan
    Well this might work, but the problem is that after repacking the rom (with DSbuff/DSlazy), it won't work anymore (the game hangs white screen on the DS - also NO$GBA gave the "rom has crashed" message). So far the Nitro Explorer method works (for changing the sound file), however it seems that it cannot replace the arm9 in it (but correct me if I'm wrong).

    Also. I have a question: what are the (file) differences between the 1893 and the 2528 rom (the two jp version of RF2)?
     
  14. johnsmith

    Newcomer johnsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    @ TyRaNtM, Thanks so much for making the patch!

    @Noitora, I'll try this now with mine and see if it works.
     
  15. Noitora

    Member Noitora ::

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    Replace also arm7.bin
     
  16. johnsmith

    Newcomer johnsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I just get the same problems as always, any rom I repack doesn't boot on anything. I don't understand what is wrong. I posted about this problem in a new thread, if you have some advice, please feel free to help me out over there!

    In other news, the patch works! Thanks again, TyRaNtM!
     
  17. Noitora

    Member Noitora ::

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    The logical assumption is that my way of undubbing it doesn't work.
     
  18. johnsmith

    Newcomer johnsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Even if I don't change anything, don't try to undub anything, the repacked rom fails to load.

    If I take a rom that works perfectly, unpack it, repack it with no changes, it doesn't load.

    This is off topic though. If you're interested in helping me out, which would be great, please include it in the thread about this issue.
     
  19. Noitora

    Member Noitora ::

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    There's nothing I can help with, if you really need help I posted something rather useful in the other thread you created.
     
  20. gbands

    Member gbands GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    Philippines
    Thanks for the patch TyRaNtM, it's an ear saver [​IMG] Atleast Alicia and Barett are more tolerable to talk to now.
     

Share This Page