ROMS for (EU)

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by docedog, Jan 18, 2008.

Jan 18, 2008

ROMS for (EU) by docedog at 10:17 PM (1,640 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. docedog
    OP

    Newcomer docedog Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    What's the difference between ROMS marked (EU) as opposed to (US)? Wouldn't EU still be in english?
     
  2. Jackreyes

    Jackreyes Newbie

    yes.
    But EU also have other european languages sometimes
    and sometimes games are changed slightly dependant on the continent they are released in.
     
  3. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    (E) roms are released in Europe and may contain more languages other than english, while (U) roms are released on the US and have only english language, sometimes others.

    EDIT: Darnit, beaten by a milisecond! [​IMG]
     
  4. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    EU is usually multilanguage, like Multi5 which often contains german, english , french ,italian and spanish
    while US is most often only english and sometimes maybe spanish.
    other than that, the're not that different, also they tend to "translate" brittish American english between the regions as well..

    Edit: heh, i got beaten too [​IMG] :'(
     
  5. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,706
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    +1 to everyone so far although noONE I still see color, honor and the like as well as imperial units in the vast amount of games I play.

    Sometimes the Eu releases get bugs fixed too, the best example probably being GBA Tales of Phantasia and some of the final fantasy games (they still like font hacks though http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/130/ and http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/153/
     
  6. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does anyone know, do some Europe versions still use slightly different savefiles to the US releases? Just curious really, I know they sometimes used to on the GBA. If so it's something to consider if you buy a game at a later date and want to migrate your savefile to it.
     
  7. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,706
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some saves are able to be used without issue but others have problems (FF3 Japanese version stored Japanese encoded names in the save which did not look nice in the US/Eu versions) and others just plain do not work.
    It is more a coding issue than a save type one like Mr Driller 2 for the GBA though.
     
  8. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    often the extra languages take up a teeny bit of extra space, so if you're stingy about space saving on your card, you might be inclined to go for the (U) version.
     
  9. dice

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't know for sure, but from experience sometimes [​IMG]
     
  10. Artheido

    Member Artheido GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've never had a problem with using the same savefile for games from different regions. Just rename it appropriately and it should work fine.
     
  11. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks guys. That's what made me say it, because I nearly did it [​IMG] The game was out of stock so I'm racing two stores against each other to see which one gets it in first, and realised 2 weeks into the wait that my save was on the USA version. That one works fine with the European version, but just made me wonder if it was an issue on other titles.
     
  12. BionicC

    Member BionicC GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oddly enough, a few recent games (can't remember which off the top of my head) have been pretty much the same for both versions, despite the fact that the US release is only in English (or MU3 at most) whereas the European release is MU5 -- the European version occasionally being a fraction smaller.

    I haven't bothered delving into them to see if all languages are present in both releases, just without the option to select them in the US one (as is the case with Sim City IIRC).

    Another European release that differs to the US one is Zookeeper -- I believe the European release is the bugfixed one.
     

Share This Page