Homebrew Retroarch for 3DS in development

danielps

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2014
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
283
Country
IMG_20150402_144634_2.jpg You tell me
 

Kurt91

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2012
Messages
591
Trophies
1
Age
33
Location
Newport, WA
XP
2,278
Country
United States
Wait, so we're talking full RetroArch emulator, with working cores for NES, SNES, PC Engine, etc. (I'm not going to get greedy and claim PSX or N64, but anything older than that) all potentially working on a 3DS? No April Fools prank or anything?

If so, then I'm very impressed and can't wait for a way to (eventually) play it. I've been hoping for a full basic emulator suite for my N3DS. I tried using my sister's PSP a while back, but the emulators I tried using were rather buggy, and one actually prevented the system from turning off and we couldn't get it to close. The only way to get it to stop was to just let the battery run itself dead. I also looked into the different emulators for on my DS Lite, but the screen resolution bugged me.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Skull Kiddo

danielps

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2014
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
283
Country
What did you do to get it to compile?

First, you need to build the core you want as a static library. For Mednafen VB, I just had to add a new platform (ctr) in the makefile with the flags you'll find in any ctrulib project, plus these two:
Code:
-DLSB_FIRST -DBYTE_ORDER=LITTLE_ENDIAN
You will probably need to change more stuff in order to build other cores, but I'll leave that to you.
This will output libretro_ctr.a.

Then just build RetroArch with libretro_ctr.a in the root directory llike this:
Code:
make -f Makefile.ctr
 

Skull Kiddo

Definitely Not A Kid
Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
317
Trophies
0
Location
My bedroom
XP
183
Country
United Kingdom
Wait, so we're talking full RetroArch emulator, with working cores for NES, SNES, PC Engine, etc. (I'm not going to get greedy and claim PSX or N64, but anything older than that) all potentially working on a 3DS? No April Fools prank or anything?

If so, then I'm very impressed and can't wait for a way to (eventually) play it. I've been hoping for a full basic emulator suite for my N3DS. I tried using my sister's PSP a while back, but the emulators I tried using were rather buggy, and one actually prevented the system from turning off and we couldn't get it to close. The only way to get it to stop was to just let the battery run itself dead. I also looked into the different emulators for on my DS Lite, but the screen resolution bugged me.
Uhh my PSP, and its a phat, 16 MB only, has emus and they arent THAT buggy. Obv if ure using a N64 emu its going to be slow, but other emus work fine. Even SNES.

Also, you can always remove the battery instead of waiting for the battery to die...

About the emu that didnt let you shut off, are you talking about SNESxTYL for the psp? Its supposed to do that, to get better stability.
 

Kazuma77

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
1,067
Trophies
1
XP
1,000
Country
United States
They're porting RetroArch? Wow. OK, guess it's official. We're about to see some good emulation on the 3DS. It would be nice to see Virtualboy games in true stereoscopy instead of Anaglyph if they can pull it off.
 

danielps

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2014
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
283
Country
They're porting RetroArch? Wow. OK, guess it's official. We're about to see some good emulation on the 3DS. It would be nice to see Virtualboy games in true stereoscopy instead of Anaglyph if they can pull it off.

Unfortunately, mednafen's Virtual Boy interpreter is too slow for the 3DS, it runs at <10 fps.
A dynarec is our only hope, but I've heard it's being worked on... ;)
 

Fatalanus

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
595
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
410
Country
Romania
It seems it's a nice project!
as it's really early, I guess we will have to wait a long time to see something fully working, but it's amazing. :bow:
 

danielps

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2014
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
283
Country
Still can't compile this...been trying with the Snes9x, nestopia and genesis GX cores to no luck. Ah well.

That's stange, I just tried with nestopia and it works, although with the same graphical glitches and crashes as before.
The buttons aren't mapped tough so I couldn't get past SMB's title screen.

EDIT: Genesis works too and the graphics aren't as corrupted, but Sonic crashes right after the second splash screen.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: You never eat sausage by mouth +1