1. Jacklack3

    Jacklack3 ( ゚ヮ゚) buddie was here
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,813
    Country:
    Canada
    Can someone tell me what emulator emulates what? I have been searching forever and found nothing.

    I also heard you can run cave story on your 3ds, is that true?
     
  2. Stack3r

    OP Stack3r Shizuo Heiwajima
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    973
    All thats in the OP, nxengine is cave story
     
  3. TecXero

    TecXero Technovert
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,811
    Country:
    United States
    gpSP = GBA, PicoDrive = Genesis/MD & CD & 32x, Genplus = Genesis/MD & CD, gambatte = GBC, PCSX = PS1, and so on. If you look up the core name (like gpSP), you should find the original emulator and its description.

    As for Cave Story, there's Cave Story on the eShop, Cave Story 3D, and NXEngine from RetroArch, so pick your poison and have fun.
     
    RahFah likes this.
  4. Stack3r

    OP Stack3r Shizuo Heiwajima
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    973
    @daxtsu Im trying to use the latest pcsx cia and i still get a black screen with sound, got any idea whats going on?
     
  5. daxtsu

    daxtsu GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,627
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You using graphics filters by chance, especially LQ2x or Scale2x?
     
  6. Stack3r

    OP Stack3r Shizuo Heiwajima
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    973
    I dont think so let me look, for some reason scale2x was selected, how can i not use a filter?
     
  7. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,149
    Country:
    Mexico
    Press Start when you highlight the filter option.
    Afterwards you should see N/A in there.
     
  8. daxtsu

    daxtsu GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,627
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Highlight the filter option and press start on it.
     
  9. Stack3r

    OP Stack3r Shizuo Heiwajima
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    973
    Okay got it, now what settings do i put for best performance on n3ds?
     
  10. daxtsu

    daxtsu GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,627
    Country:
    Antarctica
    There's not a whole lot you can adjust to make PS1 games faster, but:

    Settings -> Driver -> Audio Resampler Driver: change to nearest
    Settings -> Driver -> Video -> VSync: changing this to off instead of on might boost performance a bit (but on other emulators it'll make them too fast, so don't forget to turn it back on)
    Settings -> Driver -> Audio -> Audio Sync Enable: change to off, might give a slight boost
    Quick Menu -> Core Options -> Frameskip: change this to a value you can tolerate

    Make sure you're not using any graphical filters as well (due to black screens and performance issues).

    Personally I just turned the audio resampler to nearest and turned audio sync off, and left frameskip off, and kept vsync on. Tearing is annoying, and I don't like frameskip.
     
  11. Stack3r

    OP Stack3r Shizuo Heiwajima
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    973
    Okay cool, so we just have to wait until it gets better?
     
  12. daxtsu

    daxtsu GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,627
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Pretty much, yeah, but even the N3DS is pretty weak, so who knows how much room is left for performance boosts (hopefully enough to get a fair amount of ps1 games full speed, though).
     
  13. intensje

    intensje Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i installed 2 cia's gpsp and catsfc on my 10.3 emunand. the apps start, but i cant press any button then! can any1 explain this, thanks
     
  14. Smoker1

    Smoker1 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    3,716
    Country:
    United States
    Is there still problems coming up for users with Gateway? Frame Counter going up but can not do anything but Exit the Cores?
     
  15. intensje

    intensje Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i thought i had the same problem, deleted retroarch.cfg and tried again. works.
     
  16. nusilver

    nusilver Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Appreciate the response from the person who suggested I use filters to remove the flickering on Super Metroid's HUD, but any filters I use actually slow the game down, so that's not an option. I assume this is something that will be worked out in time, though, so I'm not stressing.

    However, I noticed a more "pressing" issue (a joke you'll get in a minute) with Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together for SNES, which, after some Googling, I discovered has been a RetroArch issue for years. The game doesn't accept any inputs unless you're currently pressing any other button or activating another input. For instance, to select "new game" from the main menu, I have to hold any button or push a direction on the circle pad before it will accept the "A" button. I really hope there's a fix for this... what a bizarre issue.
     
    Last edited by nusilver, Jan 20, 2016
  17. Ripper00420

    Ripper00420 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    740
    Country:
    United States
    The cia version of genesisplus is causing system reboot after exit on 1/20/16
     
  18. Smoker1

    Smoker1 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    3,716
    Country:
    United States
    Nope. Still cant use it. Deleted the CFG File and I still cant do anything. Here's the thing though, I have the 8 Nov Build Installed and I can run them with no problem. But the DosBox Build I have which is a later Build, I cant. So that suggest, it is not a CFG File issue.
     
  19. daxtsu

    daxtsu GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,627
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Does the issue persist with other CFWs like Cakes or Reinand? If not, then it's on Gateway's end.
     
  20. meep0matic

    meep0matic Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Australia
    So, I'm acutally new to retroarch, please be gentle sempais x)
    I have a few questions:
    (N3DS XL 10.4 emunand, reiNAND MOD by @Aurora Wright and 10.4 FIRM)

    > I'm wondering, is the screen tearing is normal on gpsp?
    > I noticed that a few filters force the program to close, is this normal?
    > Is there anyway to save the folder I usualy load the ROM from?
    > Will the NTR 804MHz clock speed mode have any influence in this emulator's performance?
    > Any tips on setting up this emulator for better quality?

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited by meep0matic, Jan 20, 2016
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Retroarch, Emulation, Included)