1. cearp

    cearp 瓜老外
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,321
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    for gb(c) should i be using gameyob or gambatte?
     
  2. daxtsu

    daxtsu GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,627
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I'd say Gambatte except if you need borders, slightly better colour support (I can't remember off the top of my head, but I seem to remember GameYob being more customisable in this area), and more speed in some games. It's purely opinion though. Use whatever emulator works best for the games you play.
     
    cearp likes this.
  3. EMoney100

    EMoney100 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Hi! Does anyone who has mastered the Sega CD for retroarch want to tell us their tricks of the trade? What format and naming scheme should we use? I am struggling, I have Sonic CD in bin/cue as well as iso/wav and neither is being played on 3DS..
     
  4. cearp

    cearp 瓜老外
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,321
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    i only thought there was one gb emulator in the pack so i wasn't sure when i read about gameyob ha :)
    i'll try to find how to remove the debug text on the bottom screen. i'm sure that's possible.
    i was very impressed with the retroarch menu, very nice (although very confusing!)
     
  5. daxtsu

    daxtsu GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,627
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Gambatte is the only one provided with RetroArch, but GameYob can easily be found in this subforum.

    Press the touch screen on the upper half, and it'll turn the screen off.

    You get used to it after a while. It has a lot of options (and it's generic for every core, so there's some overlap).
     
    cearp likes this.
  6. cearp

    cearp 瓜老外
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,321
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    daxtsu likes this.
  7. Kazuma77

    Kazuma77 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035
    Country:
    United States
    Looks like Picodrive is getting the boot. Beggar Prince reset at the usual place. Pier didn't even run, failed to create save data. Both run on Plus of course. That's what it's known for. Though Pier only runs at 40 FPS, with or without the ISO (actually, it drops below 40 without it). That game must really give the Genesis a workout. Wouldn't know. It won't run on a Mega ED. First time trying it actually, and it seems like a genuinely good game (most homebrew carts are just translated HKO crap). If someone could get it to work on the Mega ED, I might even consider buying it (I like supporting indie devs, but I hate swapping carts).

    Well, it's not like they're installing to NAND, and I think we can trust the RA team. If I were getting these from some unknown source, I'd definitely check them in EmuNAND first. That said, you don't really see much console homebrew malware. The big target is Android. Besides, most people that have an exploitable 3DS to begin with run EmuNAND. Imagine if people were even halfway as cautious with Windows PCs. People like me might have to find a new line of work.

    Actually, there are a few other things you might want on SysNAND. For example:

    A CN CIA for running Ninjhax 1.1 (that's obviously not going to work on 10.3). Of course, keeping 1.1 around means changing "boot.3dsx" in all 2.5 payloads you might be using, since there's no changing 1.1's target. My copy of Gridlauncher is named "hblb.3dsx" for example I find the most cross-hax compatible boot file to be the one with Pasta built in, so that's my "boot.3dsx" file. YMMV.

    I made RF CIAs of the US and EUR versions of CN so I could run Gateway on the other copy (no longer needed for several reasons, but a few months ago it was very useful).

    There's MSETSD for changing the settings that disappeared when you downgraded MSET to 4.5. This is pretty much only useful in SysNAND. You may never need it, but it's good to have.

    Alternate eshop access methods so you can get updates for your legit CIAs, and download NFN on SysNAND (into which I like to inject Four Swords, naturally). Then again, I guess thanks to MenuHax, you never have to see a clean SysNAND, or even see SysNAND at all for that matter, ever again if you'd rather not. Which would make all that "legit CIA" stuff somewhat pointless.

    FreeMultiPatcher gets out-of-region DSiWare and GBA games to show up if you don't like using BBM to launch them. Of course, rxTools has an RF SysNAND mode. But it's nice having options.

    It never hurts to have useful apps like SDF, PlayCoinSetter, FBI, HB Launcher, BootNTR, and CTRXplorer installed either.


    GBA and DSiWare probably will remain the most frequent uses for SysNAND though. They're the reason GW owners like me wanted CFW for the N3DS to begin with. Well, that and SDF, but that's also a need that's passed. And yes, the N3DS has AGB-FIRM. Apparently it did occur to Nintendo how angry someone doing an ST from an ambassador 3DS might get if it didn't.

    Hard to say. Some tweaks might get SotN up to speed. Looks like we can forget about Diablo though. Think I'll try FF7 and Twisted Metal 2 next.
     
    cearp likes this.
  8. TecXero

    TecXero Technovert
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,811
    Country:
    United States
    I'd say it's up to you. GameYob will give you better performance and a couple more options specifically for GB/GBC. Gambatte isn't fullspeed for a couple of GBC games but will give you better audio and the regular advantages that come with RetroArch.
    I tried out Sonic CD and the audio was fine for me, beyond that it's slow on my o3DS. I was simply running a BIN/CUE combo. Just in case, make sure you select the CUE when booting up. If it's not picking up the tracks properly, the BIN might be corrupted or the CUE might have the track markers wrong.
     
    Last edited by TecXero, Jan 18, 2016
    Bkool999 and cearp like this.
  9. Naked_Snake

    Naked_Snake Constant Miscreant
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    Australia
    ;)
     

    Attached Files:

    Bkool999 and cearp like this.
  10. Kazuma77

    Kazuma77 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035
    Country:
    United States
    Also, the tracks could be misaligned if convererted from iso+mp3 because the MP3 format doesn't properly preserve original track length exactly (like OGG does). The first rip of Dracula X I ever downloaded failed to play in a real Turbografx, and for that exact reason. It would have been best for all involved if MP3 had died with with dialup (for distribution purposes anyway -- let the end user do the ripping).

    However, the SegaCD did come out after the mixed mode standard. The data track is always at the beginning, so the game should at least load. If not, they should make absolutely certain that they have the right BIOS files, that they are named correctly, and in the correct folder, as outlined in post 1. Some emulators can be extremely picky about which version of the BIOS they want after all.
     
    Last edited by Kazuma77, Jan 19, 2016
    Bkool999 and cearp like this.
  11. TheBroCode

    TheBroCode GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
  12. daxtsu

    daxtsu GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,627
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you've been using the nightly builds, 1.3 is just a formality (in other words, if you had problems on really recent nightly builds, then no, it's probably not fixed). Correct me if I'm wrong though, @aliaspider..
     
  13. cvskid

    cvskid GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,523
    Country:
    United States
    You most likely would want to use the retroarch version of mgba.
     
    MattKimura and SLiV3R like this.
  14. hutzero

    hutzero Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Thailand
    I have black screen problem with MAME cannot run every FBA roms (both of 3dsx and cia). Have anyone can prove that it works for now?
     
  15. MattKimura

    MattKimura 3DS & WiiU Enthusiast
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2,129
    Country:
    United States
    @Kazuma77 More great ideas, thanks!
    I forgot what's good about hax 1.1, is it still remotely useful? I can already do a lot in hax 2.5, including loading CFW.

    Ah I knew N3DS had to have had AGMFIRM, that's great! But do GBA games work on sysnand through Pasta, or ONLY through Rxmode sysnand via Devmode/Pastamode? Eh I think it's pointless on N3DS, GPSP runs perfect enough that you don't need injects.

    You're very knowledgeable, someone can learn from you!
     
  16. nusilver

    nusilver Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys,

    So first off, just wanted to say I just got into RetroARch on 3DS over the weekend, and I'm blown away by the performance of all SNES games I've tried on CatSFC. That said, Super Metroid exhibits some weird behavior and I was wondering if anyone is familiar with this issue, and with how to fix it. I'm using the latest nightly build (1/19) and it's still doing the same thing... otherwise the game is flawless. The issue is: when the fanfare music for getting a new powerup plays, or when I from room to room, the HUD flickers like crazy, but then goes back to normal when the actions I mentioned are completed.

    Any help is greatly appreciated; it's admittedly a minor annoyance, but since I don't see anyone else talking about it I thought I'd mention it. Using menuhax/.3dsx version on 10.3 on New 3DS, by the way.
     
    Last edited by nusilver, Jan 19, 2016
  17. kedest

    kedest GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,289
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Try applying a video filter in settings. This solved flickering for me in DKC. Try out different filters (Some are too heavy and slow down the game)
     
  18. Codiox

    Codiox GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    South Africa
    Hey guys, are there some good gba filters to make the saturation less intense?

    What about shaders? Are there any on the 3ds version of retroarch?
    Thanks!
     
  19. Jacklack3

    Jacklack3 ( ゚ヮ゚) buddie was here
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,813
    Country:
    Canada
    Now i know i been living under a rock but...
     
    daxtsu likes this.
  20. Stack3r

    OP Stack3r Shizuo Heiwajima
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    973
    fixed lol
     
    Jacklack3 and daxtsu like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Retroarch, Emulation, Included)