Retail Display DSi

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by esc1, Sep 30, 2012.

Sep 30, 2012

Retail Display DSi by esc1 at 1:36 AM (886 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. esc1
    OP

    Newcomer esc1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Happen to work in retail where I was given the display DSi.. it will not power off for anything. I know it is not something broken on it. The rep told me they are all that way. Maybe it is something physically built into the display units where you can't power it off, but I can't find any evidence on the net of this. Find it hard to believe Nintendo would manufacture different models so the power could not be turned off. Maybe it's something in the firmware? I updated firmware to 1.4.3U. Still won't power off. Does anyone happen to know?
     
  2. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,621
    Country:
    United States
    I dont think that is right lol
    Maybe someone did a poor solder job and messed something up inside.
     
  3. jax604

    Newcomer jax604 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    The CIty
    Country:
    Canada
    A friend of mine had a problem with powering off on his dsi too. Apparently when he lent his dsi to his lil cousin, he kept the dsi on for almost a week(charge when battery was low). We fixed it by letting it run until battery dies.charge it again, repeated that a few times until its fixed. Maybe try that?
     
  4. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    I was sure there's a special key combination for turning off display units..
     
  5. Ozito

    Member Ozito Not a new member anymore

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    What does the dsi do if you remove the battery and reinsert it?
    Does it power on automatically?
     
  6. esc1
    OP

    Newcomer esc1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Totally forgot about this thread, but I still have this thing and would like to know what I can do.

    It doesn't power on unless the power button is pressed after removing the battery.

    If there is a sequence order to turn this off it would be nice to know..
     
  7. SuperrSonic

    Member SuperrSonic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    623
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Try holding the power button for a few secs to force it off. When my dsi froze after hitting the floor I did this and it worked.
     
  8. esc1
    OP

    Newcomer esc1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    bump, still trying to figure this thing out..
     

Share This Page