1. lordelan

    OP lordelan GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4,624
    Country:
    Germany
    What I'm dreaming of can be described in one picture. :P
    wii u gc.png

    Can't the vWii be tricked into this by some kind of cIOS stuff or something like that?
    I mean look at this:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Wii_games_with_traditional_control_schemes
    There are many games that would work in an instant.
    I guess there's no doubt that GameCube Controllers are nothing but fantastic and thanks to HID to VPAD they are great for Wii U games already.
    Let's make the Wii U an even nicer place by pimping the vWii as well. :yayu:
     
    geoGolem likes this.
  2. Darkji

    Darkji Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    France
    This, plus a patch that allows the vWii to recognize the WiiU gamepad as Wii remote + classic controller, so we don't have to use Wii remotes anymore !
     
    ManuelKoegler likes this.
  3. Hayleia

    Hayleia GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    France
    Well if the GC controllers are recognized, that's already enough. Nothing prevents you from booting directly from the Wii U home menu into USB Loader GX, using hbl2hbc (and wiiu2hbc if you want).
     
  4. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,119
    Country:
    Portugal
    this will never work becuase of how wii or vwii operate sadly.

    the wii controller support stuff in on the gameitself not on the console, so controller patches would need to be made game by game sadly, that is the reason this hasnt been done yet, for wiiu gamepad you would probably need to write an ios for it to work.
     
    DarthDub, iVcU and KiiWii like this.
  5. lordelan

    OP lordelan GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4,624
    Country:
    Germany
    So you're telling me that every single game has the known fact, that the console (Wii) has GC controller ports, built in instead of being a global parameter that is passed by an API like other hardware things that the Wii U has (for example RAM)?
     
  6. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,119
    Country:
    Portugal
    what im saying is the wii doesnt have anything running on the background this applys to vwii too, the background stuff just doesnt exist so you cant patch stuff while running games since they use every recource, thats why people had to make cios becuase there is no working background stuff we could use while on vwii/wii.
     
  7. lordelan

    OP lordelan GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4,624
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah and that's exactly what I was thinking of: A cIOS that tricks the vWii. :P
     
  8. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    *yawn* Well we need to get somebody to code a custom IOS for that. vWii is still hiding alot of stuff and since we have ability to dump it [SLCMTTP], it shouldn't be a problem anymore..
     
    lordelan likes this.
  9. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,119
    Country:
    Portugal
    good luck finding a cios creator that wants to make anything anymore, the cios people were rare and extremely smart and they are gone now lol.
     
  10. geoGolem

    geoGolem GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    Canada
    It is unfortunate that nothing ever happened to resolve this. Based on my understanding, it should be possible but is difficult and requires alot of work by someone who has an understanding of Wii cios etc..
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [REQUEST], Tricking, GameCube