Report your experiences with DVD DL on the Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by NeverX, Feb 5, 2008.

Feb 5, 2008
  1. NeverX
    OP

    Newcomer NeverX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United States
    This thread should be purely for reporting your successes and failures using DVD DL media for Wii games (yeah, SSBB).

    Include everything you think should be included. The type of disc, what you used to burn it, how you burned it, anything else, and what the results were.
     


  2. DrQuack02

    Newcomer DrQuack02 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    Sony DVD+r DL
    Burned 2.4x : Nero and ImgBurn

    NTSC-U Cyclowiz 3.6b

    Used DVD5 previously, 100% update...
    DVD9 does not boot game, using swap method allows everything to be performed that the DVD5 could do.....still fails on cut scenes.

    Fail.
     
  3. flob87

    Newcomer flob87 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Austria
    Verbatim DVD-R Dual Layer
    Burned 4x
    Wiikey, 1.9g
    PAL

    Trying to boot the DL Disc gives me an error 001 (like smg without the 1.9g wiikey update)
    Booting from the DVD5 Version and then swapping out to DVD9 works like a charm, cutscenes work

    Semi-Success
     
  4. Keylogger

    Member Keylogger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,604
    Country:
    France
    Verbatim DVD-R Dual Layer
    Burned 4x with IMGburn
    Wiikey, 1.9g
    WII PAL
    100% update with the DVD5



    DVD9 boots Successfully
     
  5. Artimes

    Newcomer Artimes Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Toronto Area, Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I can't even extract my backup from rar to iso formate. 6 pieces give me a volume corrupt error and the iso is never generated :S. I've tried re-downloading just those pieces and the same thing. Any ideas?
     
  6. DeadZephyr

    Newcomer DeadZephyr Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Same setup. Is the 100% with the DVD5 necessary to get the DVD9 to work?
     
  7. CockroachMan

    Member CockroachMan Scribbling around GBATemp's kitchen.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,889
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Do you use FAT32 file system? FAT32 doesn't support files larger than 4GB..
     
  8. Artimes

    Newcomer Artimes Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Toronto Area, Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    nope it's ntfs :/ it's parts 06,07,53,66,67,84
     
  9. Raptile01

    Newcomer Raptile01 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Germany
    IMGburn settings ?? default or different ?
     
  10. reecarno

    Newcomer reecarno Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Console: Pal wii @ 3.1E Pal
    Modchip: wiikey
    Firmware: 1.9g
    Burnt with Imgburn at 2.4x
    Media Disc ID: RICOHJPN-D01-02 Book Type: DVD+R DL (from imgburn disk info)
    Burner: PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-111D 1.06 (ATA)
    File: cvn-dsbx.iso "Unchanged"
    Wii: set to 50 Hz

    I did the 100% update got extra channels system works fine
    (Also I have the USA channels from SMG update done prior to this in Oct Nov 07)

    Result: Not working properly. [​IMG]

    It loads up I get the Health warning to put the strap on. Then I get the loading screen, then I get an option (don't not know what its saying) tried all options some lead back to the wii channels (I assume I have opted to turn wi-fi on as that's a understandable word in the options). Start again but this time I chose to not go for wi-fi and it goes to either a white screen then a warning or if press button 2 it will make a save file and then go to white screen/warning. Sadly no combination will get it working.
    _________________

    Burnt Single Layer (DX.iso) - version on ProdiscF01 DVD-R (100% success on all other compatible iso's in the past)

    Works fine as per single layer DX.iso limitations.

    Tried to do disk swap whilst in the character select screen; seems to work. Once the disk is running I can select a character and start the match; however it ends in a crash 20-30 seconds into a match.

    Will keep trying + buy different media

    Burnt same DL ISO (no changes still) media same, different burner @ 4X. Now works but will crash after a single player match. I have will in bits and the laser is working over time to read the disk. Pot adjustment might help to read the disk but I'm going to keep trying other media and install a different chip.
     
  11. zeckyD

    Member zeckyD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    Bahamas, The
    100% update dvd5 (works fine).
    Burn the dvd9 iso on a DVD+R DL with IMGburn (2,4x) .Disc isn't recognized !
    Patch with Wii update remover 1.0.exe and burn like previoulsy. Disc isn't recognized !!!
    So i still play the DVD5.
    [​IMG] help
     
  12. zeckyD

    Member zeckyD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    Bahamas, The
    verbatim
     
  13. zeckyD

    Member zeckyD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    Bahamas, The
    last post (sorry) maybe it's maybe because i didn't regionfriied the iso?
     
  14. Apakarta

    Member Apakarta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Sweden
    of course u need to region frii the iso [​IMG]
     
  15. Epohax

    Newcomer Epohax Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Belgium
    PAL Wii
    Updated 100% with DVD5
    Burned on 2,4x on IMGBurn, Verbatim DVD-R DL

    Error "onauthorised device" on boot.

    Swap trick (Boot with DVD5, then swap with DVD9) works fine!
     
  16. Mr_Grinch

    Newcomer Mr_Grinch Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    Incidentally what are people setting the layer break at? I've currently got it to automatically do it, but I don't really like that.
     
  17. Toonne

    Newcomer Toonne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hello.


    I did the 100% update on the DVD5 but when i put the DVD9 in
    I get a error message or something... i used Traxdata DVD+R DL 8x
    and i burned in Nero Burning ROM in 4x speed


    Did i do anything wrong while burning or what is wrong?
    I dont want to waste more of these CD's because they cost alot.

    Thanks [​IMG]
     
  18. Thulinma

    Newcomer Thulinma Computer Magician

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Leiden, The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ok, this is going to sound really silly, and I hope this is the right topic to post this, but here goes:

    I have the DL ISO, and tried to burn it using my regular method at first:
    - K3b using growisofs (never failed me before), all settings on automatic.
    I used a Philips DVD+R DL, and it worked fine at first, but at exactly 50% of the burning it gave me an input/output error. Both the writer and the program are supposed to support DL.
    Then, I tried my little brother's PC, using imgburn on default settings, same DVD type. This also failed, but at 30%, giving me a write error on a certain sector.

    The ISO extracted without errors and I assume it's fine. I didn't patch it with anything, so that's not the problem either.

    Anyone has any idea what I'm doing wrong?
     
  19. akayfortyseven

    Newcomer akayfortyseven Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    ^What chip?
     
  20. Artimes

    Newcomer Artimes Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Toronto Area, Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    So I repaired my ISO, Rigionfrii patched it, nothing else. Burt is using ImgBurn at 2.4x and let my Wii update 100%. Reset and seconds after the intro I get what I think is a read disk error [​IMG] Back to the drawing board. I now have dual channels and all my other games work (including SMG). I think it was the burner I used, crappy one in my laptop. I have a better LG in another computer, I'm going to try that and a higher speed? I'm using Verbatum DVD+R DL by the way.
     

Share This Page