Hardware Replacing 3DS XL Touch Screen

drfsupercenter

Flash Cart Aficionado
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
How difficult is it to do that? I'm a complete noob when it comes to intricate electronics repairs, I tried to take apart my DS Lite and put it in a custom shell and ended up being unable to put it all back together again :wacko:

After having several different screen protectors on my touchscreen, I think the factory plastic has finally bitten the dust. I don't know what it is with the XL specifically, I've never had this issue with any prior Nintendo handheld including the normal 3DS. But apparently it's not just me, and people are warning that using "wet apply" screen protectors on the bottom screen can really mess it up.

At any rate, I sent my better system in to Nintendo to have them fix it for me as it's still under warranty. The one in question, however, obviously isn't as I had a NAND flash mod installed. So I have to do this myself. I assume the touch screen digitizer (or whatever it's called) itself is pretty cheap, but is it something I'd be able to do without having loads of experience?

drfsupercenter

Flash Cart Aficionado
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
what is a wet apply screen protector?
I can't find a very good description online that isn't super tl;dr, but basically it's where you use a liquid (it's mostly water with some dish soap in there as well) to apply it. Zagg InvisibleShields were one of the first, but there are loads of brands now (IQ Shield and Skinomi both make them for 3DS XL - ArmorSuit used to until they stopped for some reason)

The benefits to doing it that way are that you don't have any air bubbles. You basically spray it a bit to get it moist, then position it, once you're satisfied you use something like a credit card (most of those screen protectors come with a little tool as well) to squeege the liquid out, which basically seals the thing against your screen.