Replacement Power Switch for NDS Lite at DX

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Splych, Sep 10, 2008.

Sep 10, 2008
  1. Splych
    OP

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    Yes. You see it. It's a replacement PowerSwitch for your DSL. Sell it for $2 so I don't know if it's worth it xD

    The Link: Replacement PowerSwitch $1.86

    Here are 2 pictures. Front and Back:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    It's $1.86. So far, I haven't seen anyone post this yet, so I guess it hasn't been announced here?

    Leave Comments.

    - Echo
     
  2. IBNobody

    Member IBNobody I try to keep myself amused.

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Texas, Hang 'Em High
    Country:
    United States
    Buy 3 of these things. They are shit, but all DS replacement switches are shit.
     
  3. ScuberSteve

    ScuberSteve Newbie

    These switches require soldering skills to replace.
    [​IMG]
     
  4. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States
    I've been saying (since i joined) that we need an icon for "the more you know."

    Sorry that was off topic, its just nice to see someone else "requesting" it [​IMG]
     
  5. IBNobody

    Member IBNobody I try to keep myself amused.

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Texas, Hang 'Em High
    Country:
    United States
    It's not that you need 3 of them because you'll botch the job. You need 3 because they only last 6 months or so. My wife is on her second replacement switch.
     
  6. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,192
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    in general real DSL switches or the switches at DX?
     
  7. IBNobody

    Member IBNobody I try to keep myself amused.

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Texas, Hang 'Em High
    Country:
    United States
    All the ones being sold at repair websites are not the same ones Nintendo uses. They are a different brand, any they have a shorter mechanical lifespan.
     
  8. thieves like us

    Member thieves like us chaos personified

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    left of the pond
    Country:
    United States
    all of the replacement switches lack the 2 "ears" on the ends of switch casing which is used to stabilize it when you mount it. the aftermarket switches are only held in place by the 4 solder connections which are the signal lines. (not that it matters too much, but I thought that I would point it out)
     
  9. moose3

    Member moose3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    NC
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure how much space is in the case, but if you can, squirt some hot glue around the switch casing. A trick I used in my amateur electronics building that will stabilize the part, also works as an insulator.
     
  10. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hot glue will make it (more) annoying to remove when it breaks.
     
  11. thieves like us

    Member thieves like us chaos personified

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    left of the pond
    Country:
    United States
    hot glue is the tool of monkeys. with the number of surface mounted components on the ds's pcb, I wouldn't risk using the stuff.
     
  12. IBNobody

    Member IBNobody I try to keep myself amused.

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Texas, Hang 'Em High
    Country:
    United States
    QFT

    Gluing wouldn't help.

    The switches don't bust apart when they fail. What fails are the contacts inside the switch.
     
  13. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    why do u need a new switch... do these break as often as hinges? It seems i have more to know
     

Share This Page