replace main.dol wii disk

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by bespike, Apr 23, 2009.

  1. bespike
    OP

    bespike Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Apr 23, 2009
    Hiya,

    Can you replace a main.dol on a wii disk with a homebrew dol file?

    Would the homebrew dol file run when the game disk is put in the wii?

    Would this work on firmware 4.0?

    Thank you for this

    Yours,
    Bespike
     
  2. oneleggedjack

    oneleggedjack GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    299
    0
    Sep 25, 2008
    United States
    yes it does work, but i'm pretty sure you need the truncha bug ios???.... not to sure, but I have a snes9xgx disc and it runs quite smoothly... still cant get roms on the disc though. any help with that would be great
     
  3. Screemer

    Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,248
    1
    Sep 21, 2008
    Gambia, The
    no it wont work. you had to resign the disc and fakesigning bug is fixed in every ios which is included in the sm 4.0 update.
     
  4. bespike
    OP

    bespike Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Apr 23, 2009
    ok, but i think i will still try it, has it might work, has some of my IOS are patched before i updated.
     
  5. TheNewMouse

    TheNewMouse Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    92
    0
    Apr 19, 2009
    The Other Place
    but your system menu and IOS60 arent patched.

    it wont work on 4.0
     
  6. Screemer

    Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,248
    1
    Sep 21, 2008
    Gambia, The
    ios60 would have to have the fakesigningbug to be present to start a trucha signed game with the disc channel.
     
  7. bespike
    OP

    bespike Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Apr 23, 2009
    well it still boots some of my trucha signed games so i don't know.

    if i get savemii will that work to run the disk?
     
  8. -pb-

    -pb- Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    97
    0
    Mar 30, 2009
    Netherlands
    nl
    only if you patched back trucha in IOS60 (during your custom upgrade to 4.0), otherwise with savemii you can only boot official discs.
     
  9. bespike
    OP

    bespike Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Apr 23, 2009
    ok thank you for your help

    how about with the flatmii?
     
  10. Valgreen

    Valgreen GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    297
    0
    Nov 22, 2008
    Canada
    can i ask why you are interested in doing this?
     
  11. bespike
    OP

    bespike Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Apr 23, 2009
    need to downgrade me wii
     
  12. Skarface05

    Skarface05 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    453
    0
    Dec 11, 2008
    Bath
    why do you want/need 2 downgrade your wii?

    And what troubles have you come up against so far?
     
  13. Valgreen

    Valgreen GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    297
    0
    Nov 22, 2008
    Canada
    if your looking to downgrade a virgin 4.0 wii your stuck until the next exploit is released.. if your not on a virgin 4.0 wii... why do you need to do this?
     
  14. bespike
    OP

    bespike Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Apr 23, 2009
    my wii did have hbc but i updated then it would not load, so i moved it to the sd card and still wouldn't load and now i can't move it back or copy it back.

    i need to downgrade so that i can install hbc again.

    my wii is not a virgin wii.

    i have come up with lots of troubles, manyly to do with exploits not working on my wii.
    i did find out that bannerbomb one should work on my wii but its not finished yet, so i can wait for that.

    but when my pc has finished copying a wii game, i am going to try and replace the main.dol with a downgarder that i have used before.