Repacked roms fail to boot

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by johnsmith, Nov 20, 2008.

Nov 20, 2008

Repacked roms fail to boot by johnsmith at 11:56 AM (1,749 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. johnsmith
    OP

    Newcomer johnsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Hello,

    I've been trying for a while to get repacked roms to run. Here is what I do:

    1. load the rom in dsbuff 1.0 final, then unpack them, then repack them from the unchanged directory, and it generates a new rom. It gives no errors.

    2. I load the rom onto my R4 or with no$gba

    The result is that the roms hang on the white screen and do nothing.

    I've searched around quite a bit, but it doesn't seem like people have any problems with these processes. It was my intention to make undubs, but even if I make no changes at all to the files, it won't work when I repack the rom.

    I'm using vista x64, if that could contribute to the problem.

    Can someone give me some advice to get this working? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Noitora

    Member Noitora ::

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    It'd be time consuming but use NitroExplorer, it will work but you then must find another program to swap arm9 files...you can use Crystaltile2 for that.
     
  3. johnsmith
    OP

    Newcomer johnsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the reply. I'll try this out when I get home. I attempted to unpack and repack a rom here at my work computer (I know, I know) and it didn't work either, so there must be some step I'm not doing or something else I'm not doing correctly.
     
  4. sland

    Member sland GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    United States
    Strange. It works perfectly for me.
     
  5. cmccmc

    Banned cmccmc Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    I've never heard of it not working before. It works fine for me.
     
  6. johnsmith
    OP

    Newcomer johnsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Do I need to change anything in the header?

    I just fire up dsbuff, unpack a rom to a directory, then choose 'pack' and select that directory. It says 'all files needed are present' and packs, then asks for a filename after it's done.

    When I load that rom it whitescreens. I've done it on this computer (vista 64) and a work computer (xp) and the same problem happens.

    It whitescreens on my R4 and on no$gba, using multiple roms, some very early, some more recent, some just out.

    Anyone have any other ideas what might be wrong?
     
  7. Hehe Moo

    Member Hehe Moo Moo?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  8. johnsmith
    OP

    Newcomer johnsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the reply, but following those exact instructions generates a current.nds file that will not load on my r4 or no$gba.
     
  9. Hehe Moo

    Member Hehe Moo Moo?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Umm... why not?
     
  10. psycoblaster

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    some roms do not load when it is repacked. ask hernanzh, because he has delt with it before.
     
  11. HernanZh

    Member HernanZh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Umm, no I haven't [​IMG] You must be mistaken me for someone else.
    I don't know why he can't properly pack his roms.
     
  12. psycoblaster

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    nvm o.O Then probably someone else mentioning a ROM that' won't even boot after unpack/repack. I thought it was the puyo puyo rom but maybe not -ㅅ-; I know I heard it from someone in gbatemp though. probably deufeufeu?
     
  13. Dark

    Member Dark GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    856
    Country:
    United States
    I think he didn't repack all the files he need for the rom.
     
  14. xvirus

    Member xvirus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    United States
    I've had this happen once before while I was hacking away... but luckly was able to fix it. Not sure if it would be similar in your case, but somehow during the repack process, the first byte of the arm9 was altered which caused an instant white screen. I was able to hex edit that back though.. and it hasn't happened since.
     
  15. johnsmith
    OP

    Newcomer johnsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the reply. What should the first byte of arm9 be then? I'll try to change it to that and repack.

    Also, in reply to the person who suggested it might not have all the files, the repacked rom is nearly the same size as the original, just a few bytes less.
     
  16. Noitora

    Member Noitora ::

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    Simply make a copy of the arm9.bin before unpacking/packing it and compare it with the one after packing.
     
  17. johnsmith
    OP

    Newcomer johnsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    How am I going to get a copy of the arm9 file before unpacking? Are they all the same?
     
  18. Hehe Moo

    Member Hehe Moo Moo?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I was wondering the same thing...
     
  19. Noitora

    Member Noitora ::

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    Oh my bad [​IMG] Use crystaltile2
     

Share This Page