Removing "unused" IOS?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Redah, Nov 13, 2008.

Nov 13, 2008

Removing "unused" IOS? by Redah at 2:23 PM (2,899 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. Redah
    OP

    Newcomer Redah Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hello,

    I have been cleaning my Wii with AnyTitle Deleter, it's a great application to quickly free up alot of space. I have deleted stuff like the original (1.0) PhotoChannel, and the 1.1 channel still works, so that gave me a few more free blocks without losing functionality.

    But now I am wondering: In the "System Titles" section, all the IOS, BC, MIOS and System Menus are listed. Which am I able to remove, and will this give me more free blocks?

    Some things I've noticed is that the "brick protection" doesn't let me delete the current IOS in use (this was 30 for me). The strange thing is, it would let me delete IOS51, but then I know that some apps/games will complain because IOS51 is needed.

    On the other hand, I can imagine that IOS9 could be safely removed (this was the very first IOS) without games complaining.

    Does anyone know if it is of any use to delete IOSes, will it give me more free blocks, and: What IOSes are needed for current games (or in another question: Which IOSes can I safely remove?) ?
     


  2. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    Different games use the different IOSs... don't remove any of them. Period.
     
  3. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    if you remove ios9 zelda wouldn't work anymore. and other games use other ioses. don't remove any.
     
  4. Keylogger

    Member Keylogger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,591
    Country:
    France
    You can use the IOS Patcher by Waninkoko to choose wich IOS your game will use.

    You can patch Zelda to make it run with another IOS. After that, IOS9 can be safely removed.
     
  5. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    great idea if you want to play originals...
     
  6. Keylogger

    Member Keylogger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,591
    Country:
    France
    Wich IOS is loaded when you start Gecko OS? Because I can play my original Zelda but I removed IOS9
     
  7. Redah
    OP

    Newcomer Redah Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't really want to start patching all my DVDs [​IMG]

    I just thought that, if a game needed (for example) IOS9, and it saw "Oh wait, he already has IOS30, so he meets my minimum requirements", it would still run.

    Does anyone know if the IOSes take up 'blocks' by the way? Because that would be a real shame, losing the already limited memory space to system upgrades...
     
  8. Keylogger

    Member Keylogger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,591
    Country:
    France
    If a game needs IOS9 and that this IOS is deleted, the game will not boot (black screen)

    Don't know if IOSes take up blocks...
     
  9. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
     
  10. pelago

    Member pelago Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    879
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It doesn't work like that. Specific games need a specific IOS number, not that number or higher.
     
  11. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    plus, IOS are ridiculous in size (comparing to app channels), you won't save very much memory

    you can not fill your Wii memory with all those available "wads", you have to live with that [​IMG]
     
  12. Patryc

    Member Patryc GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    452
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is there a list anywhere of what IOSes are in the Wii? (i.e fresh from the factory)
     
  13. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    There might be but if you find an old copy isn't there the potential to delete some needed ones that you got from updates.. I'd use caution before doing anything.
     
  14. pelago

    Member pelago Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    879
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could have a look on http://wiibrew.org/ or http://hackmii.com/ as that's the sort of thing they cover from time to time. However, different Wiis will come with different things, depending on when it was bought.
     
  15. Patryc

    Member Patryc GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    452
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks pelago, will take a look a those links [​IMG]
     
  16. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,696
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Actually you could delete IOS16 if it exists, it is the one used for the debug disc from Nintendo and a few select homebrew apps (it is signed by Nintendo but retains the signing bug so is good for downgrading on otherwise locked systems).

    Other than that my entire IOS collection zipped (they do not compress well) is about 30 megs, later ones clock slightly under 2 megs.

    Anyhow to answer your original question one list of IOS "versions":
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Title_database

    Others have suggested great caution before deleting and I will back them, my problems the last few days were caused by my not having the older IOS versions (hence my new collection).

    edit. I messed up IOS14 is good. IOS16 is the otherwise unused one.
     
  17. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    wrong. ios16 is installed through the pink fish disc and used by wadinstaller ios16 and others...
     
  18. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    I thought i remember people claiming in the past that deleting system channels such as news and weather didn't free any blocks up at all. Is this wrong?

    Or is that because they were using nintendos channel management system and not anytitledeleter?
     
  19. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Wich file did you erase???
     
  20. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Why would you lelete the old photo channel Isn't it better then the 1.1 channel?
     

Share This Page