Removing health and safety screen?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by RiderLeangle, Jul 3, 2009.

Jul 3, 2009
  1. RiderLeangle
    OP

    Member RiderLeangle GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, this has always annoyed me since I first got my wii, how do I remove the startup health and safety screen?
    I don't mean replacing it but outright removing it, so when I boot up my Wii it goes straight to the menu.
    I tried looking up how to do it but it just gives me guides on replacing it and not removing it.

    So can anyone help?
     


  2. LeonardoGolden

    Member LeonardoGolden GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    United States
    Get preloader. It allows you to do that, methinks.
     
  3. Jeomite

    Member Jeomite GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Preloader replaces the health screen with a default background so you don't have to press "A" to continue every time you turn on the Wii.
     
  4. omarroms

    Member omarroms GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    The Internet
    Country:
    United States
    get preloader and use the hacks for your system version.
     
  5. RiderLeangle
    OP

    Member RiderLeangle GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Country:
    United States
    OK. I got preloader installed but it couldn't find hacks.ini at the root of my SD card even though it was there.
    Is this because I'm running 4.0u or becuase I have Bootmii or what?
     
  6. SherlockHolmeboy

    Member SherlockHolmeboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    Country:
    Australia
    Try rename it to just 'hacks' and see if it works.
     
  7. Jizmo09

    Member Jizmo09 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    Preloader does not like SDHC cards, you need to use plain old SD card with it. And you need the correct hacks for your system menu version as well. I believe once you have the hacks/settings saved the way you want then you can remove the SD and replace with the SDHC. But to make changes/save chanes in preloader you need to do it with SD card.
     
  8. RiderLeangle
    OP

    Member RiderLeangle GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Country:
    United States
    Don't even have a SDHC card. This is the card I've been using for all of my homebrew and one I use for music and pics on DSi.
    [​IMG]


    Well I don't know if the one in the download was for 4.0u and it didn't say. Can I get a download of it for 4.0u?
     
  9. SherlockHolmeboy

    Member SherlockHolmeboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    Country:
    Australia
    Maybe try a different SD card? I've been using a SanDisk 2GB SD card for my Wii, and it works for just about anything (Preloader hacks, BootMii NAND dumps, etc.)
     
  10. omarroms

    Member omarroms GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    The Internet
    Country:
    United States
    if you are using the hack.ini that comes with preloader that might be the reason its not working its for a pal wii and won't show up on a different system version. go here and copy all the hacks for your system version and save it as hack.ini. also the hack.ini that comes with preloader doesn't have all the hacks that's available. Try the link and use those hacks. Hope this solves your problem.

    Here's the hacks for v4.0U
    Code:
    [Replace Healthwarning with Backmenu]
    version=417
    offset=0x81655F04
    value=0x814092D4
    [Region free channels]
    version=417
    offset=0x8152D580,0x813B5FF4
    value=0x38000001,0x48000028
    [Skip disc update check]
    version=417
    offset=0x8137ED54,0x8137ED58
    value=0x60000000,0x60000000
    [Remove diag disc check]
    version=417
    offset=0x813793A4
    value=0x60000000
    [Autoboot Game press RIGHT on gc pad in 4th port]
    version=417
    offset=0x8137A770
    value=0x2C000002
    [Disc autostart]
    version=417
    offset=0x8137A758
    value=0x48000020
    [Remove NoCopy Protection]
    version=417
    offset=0x8134E1E0
    value=0x7C000000
    offset=0x8134E1F0,0x8134E1F4,0x8134E1F8,0x8134E1FC
    value=0x801C0024,0x5400003C,0x901C0024,0x48000018
    offset=0x81353DF8
    value=0x3BE00000
    offset=0x813C4C88,0x813C4C8C
    value=0x7C000000,0x4182001C
    offset=0x815C1B48
    value=0x38600001
    [Region free channels from SD]
    version=417
    offset=0x81530544
    value=0x4E800020
    [Region free Wii games]
    version=417
    offset=0x8137D378
    value=0x38000001
    offset=0x8137D63C
    value=0x38000001
    offset=0x8137F40C
    value=0x38600001
    [Force Disc Region]
    version=417
    offset=0x8137D65C
    value=0x4800001C
    offset=0x8137D680
    value=0x60000000
    [Move Disc Channel]
    version=417
    offset=0x813AF388
    value=0x60000000
    [No menu BGM]
    version=417
    offset=0x8136Acc8
    value=0x4E800020
     
  11. RiderLeangle
    OP

    Member RiderLeangle GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Country:
    United States
    just tried that. preloader still won't find it >_<

    Notepad can properly edit .ini files right?


    EDIT: OK, Preloader is just giving me all kinds of shit. how do I uninstall it?
     
  12. Jizmo09

    Member Jizmo09 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    Try adding an empty RETURN line at end of file. file must be named hacks.ini and locatin in root of SD card.
     
  13. FirenXe

    Newcomer FirenXe Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Kowloon, Hong Kong
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    follow this step by step and it'll be done in a few minutes.
     
  14. bnm81002

    Member bnm81002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    a noob question from me, how does Preloader work with USB Loaders? does it affect it in any way? I also have bootmii installed as well, thanks
     
  15. RiderLeangle
    OP

    Member RiderLeangle GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Country:
    United States
    that doesn't tell me anything new about uninstalling.
    would just re-installing the theme for my Wii work at removing it because it's just a patched 00000072.app ?
     
  16. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm betting that you have "hide file extensions for known file types" turned on in windows, meaning that the file actually has a .txt extension, but its just hidden.

    here, just use mine.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?ydkclkdujjm
     
  17. RiderLeangle
    OP

    Member RiderLeangle GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, didn't work.

    back to plan A:
     
  18. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    just reinstall the system menu. That will remove preloader.

    then run Nandclean to remove left over preloader files. Do this AFTER reinstalling your system menu.
     
  19. RiderLeangle
    OP

    Member RiderLeangle GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Country:
    United States
  20. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Ouch. At least you've got BootMii...

    Maybe you should use StartPatch next time. It's a lot less intrusive than Preloader is and it also removes the health screen.
     

Share This Page