Remap Wiimote Buttons?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by _eyCaRambA_, Nov 6, 2009.

Nov 6, 2009

Remap Wiimote Buttons? by _eyCaRambA_ at 10:29 AM (1,626 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. _eyCaRambA_
    OP

    Member _eyCaRambA_ GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Location:
    Right around the cornerâ„¢
    Country:
    United States
    Hey all,
    the B Button of my bro's Wiimote just broke. Well, that sucks, especially as most of the games have still one or more button unmapped.
    So I wanted to ask if it is possible to remap the Wiimote's B to 1 or sth?
    Maybe with a homebrew app?
    Would be cool, as the B button is the only thing that doesn't work and buying a new Wiimote wouldn't be worth that.
    kind regards

    PS: I found a remapping program for Linux or some shit, but not for the Wii [​IMG]
     
  2. Edgedancer

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    I doubt you could simply use software to change it. It would have to be a hardware modification and if you are going to go down that route, a new wiimote would probably be easier.
     
  3. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you know why it broke?
    It would be pretty simple to add a new button to replace "B" with simple soldering and a button.
     
  4. _eyCaRambA_
    OP

    Member _eyCaRambA_ GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Location:
    Right around the cornerâ„¢
    Country:
    United States
    Well, it seems to be stuck :/
    And I can't get it out anymore...
    It seems to be pressed permanently, e.g. if I try to open a channel with it, the Wii activates dragging.
     
  5. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Just open it up with a triwing [​IMG]
     
  6. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Ok not as easy as it looks. Four screws are obvious, but there are at least 2 more for a full open.

    Posts merged

    Ok not as easy as it looks. Four screws are obvious, but there are at least 2 more for a full open.
     
  7. nando

    Member nando GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,072
    Country:
    United States

    there are only for screws. towards the tip of the wiimote there are two clips you need to push in from the sides along the seam.
     
  8. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    Actually I wouldn't be surprised if someone was able to create a cheat code to meet your request, but you need to speak to some hackers lol. I'm pretty sure a similar question has been asked before.
     
  9. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    I know for Brawl the button mapping has been modified.

    And ok, so the last two screws are under the clips? Cool, so now I can open my wiimote cool.
     
  10. nando

    Member nando GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,072
    Country:
    United States
    no, there are only 4 screws and 2 clips.
     

Share This Page