Homebrew [Release] Vice3DS (C64 Emulator)

MarioKartFan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2019
Messages
538
Trophies
0
XP
1,861
Country
Algeria
Badda, Brilliant emulator, I can now keep my commodore disks safe! I found one issue, seems the side scrolling is a bit jerky sometimes?. I.e. the Tape version of IO, on the demo screen, it glitches when the background scrolls. I tested my friends PSP C64 emulator and it is perfectly smooth. I did try a few different tape images! Keep up the good work.
I’ve noticed this as well. I think it has to do with PAL vs NTSC copies of games and the different frame rates for each. I don’t have a solution though. For some reason, if I run NTSC versions the game play becomes extremely janky after a few minutes.
 

Matthew2

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
51
XP
33
Country
New Zealand
I’ve noticed this as well. I think it has to do with PAL vs NTSC copies of games and the different frame rates for each. I don’t have a solution though. For some reason, if I run NTSC versions the game play becomes extremely janky after a few minutes.

Interesting, I forgot to mention I tried that before.
just now I did switch the system mode to NTSC of the emulator and launched it again but I did get graphic glitches so not sure it was that and its still jerky most of the time unfortunately. Sometimes its smooth, maybe the game has compatibility issues. (BTW this is with a New 3DS)

Just an update, when its in NTSC mode with the glitches and I attempt to exit vice3DS via the menu - I get a hard crash (Arm 11 (core 0) - data abort, Fault Status - 'translation section' - current process - vice3DS. Access type - read.
Might help in resolving?
 
Last edited by Matthew2,

Badda

Nu Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
303
Trophies
0
Location
Nirvana
XP
1,558
Country
Tokelau
New version 2.3 is out! Lots of small enhancements, bugfixes - and a bit of performance increase. Gamebase64 launcher works now on O3DS, too!
Changes towards v2.2 are:
  • enhancement: gamebase64 launcher now works on O3DS with reduced database size (and lots of other memory optimizations)
  • enhancement: auto switch to (hopefully) correct joyport/control scheme when starting a game in gamebase64 launcher
  • enhancement: new joystick handling (only 1 joystick, plugable in p1/p2 and switchable between dpad/cpad, B-button = joy up, R-button = autofire)
  • enhancement: auto-switching PAL/NTSC / TDE / Control scheme in gb64 launcher can now be turned off
  • enhancement: soft button positions are now saved in snapshot files when saving configuration
  • enhancement: volume can now be increased to 200%. This will make some games more audible but will most probably result in sound distortions for most games.
  • enhancement: VICE menu cleanup & restructure
  • enhancement: all downloads are a lot faster
  • enhancement: if no fliplist is active, the currently attached image directory or current directory is automatically a fliplist
  • enhancement: cracker group info in gb64 database/screen
  • enhancement: list of "popular" games extended in gamebase64 launcher
  • enhancement: issue UI warnings if true drive emulation is disabled but a program needs it
  • optimization: START button now starts gb64 launcher, moved rs/restore soft button back to top, included "enable mouse" in soft buttons again
  • optimization: removed lots of unused or unnecessary vice code
  • optimization: remove cartridge before autostarting an image if not default cartridge
  • optimization: true drive emulation enabled by default but autostart initially loads without TDE
  • optimization: autostart will not require selecting a file within the image anymore, new menu entry "autostart file in image"
  • optimization: numbers in download/installation progress now better readable
  • optimization: Option to turn off database update prompts in gamebase64 launcher
  • optimization: directory structure for downloaded games now resembles gb64 structure
  • optimization: make statusbar wider & remove keyboard status bar (who needs this anyways?)
  • optimization: Default drive idle method is "None" for N3DS and "Skip cycles" for O3DS
  • optimization: game files are directly downloaded with ftp from 8bitfiles.net, not over http proxy anymore (needs a custom build version of libcurl, fincs does not want to fix it in devkitARM https://github.com/devkitPro/pacman-packages/issues/130 )
  • bugfix: no more freeze/crash when switching from/to fullscreen multiple times
  • bugfix: last selected file was not always identified correctly in file dialog
  • bugfix: no more crash when restoring default settings on NTSC machine
  • lots of other bugfixes and small enhancements
https://github.com/badda71/vice3ds/releases

Big THANK YOU to @Elwyndas for the great testing and for sending me the old O3DS so I could get the gamebase64 launcher working there, too ...
Have fun! :yay3ds:
 
Last edited by Badda,

MarioKartFan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2019
Messages
538
Trophies
0
XP
1,861
Country
Algeria
@Badda This is amazing! This is the most significant update to your emulator in a long time. It seems you solved the long running framerate/performance issue too! Thank you so much!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Badda

Elwyndas

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2018
Messages
197
Trophies
0
XP
659
Country
United States
It feels like this being a final release, even though I'm certain that there will be a Ver 3.
I encourage everyone to please report hickups, bugs, crashes, performance issues. Even if it seems insignificant.
I personally noticed that True Drive Emulation can lead to performance drops even on the N3DS, running demanding demos like Comaland. This shouldn't be.
 
  • Like
Reactions: IanSkinner1982

sCRAM^LGC

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
144
Country
Serbia, Republic of
Please, wich version is best for Old3ds,need it for prophet64,so much. Thank you!

Отправлено с моего A0001 через Tapatalk
 

sCRAM^LGC

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
144
Country
Serbia, Republic of
Update:

Found a correct settings (using 3d slide also) and got 100% + 50fps on Old3DS.
I am happy now!

P.S. without 3d slide sound was always cracked,glitches.

Big respects to the author!

Отправлено с моего A0001 через Tapatalk
 

Elwyndas

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2018
Messages
197
Trophies
0
XP
659
Country
United States
Update:

Found a correct settings (using 3d slide also) and got 100% + 50fps on Old3DS.
I am happy now!

P.S. without 3d slide sound was always cracked,glitches.

Big respects to the author!

Отправлено с моего A0001 через Tapatalk

Hey, could you please lay out in detail what you did? The author is reading this.
 

sCRAM^LGC

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
144
Country
Serbia, Republic of
Hey, could you please lay out in detail what you did? The author is reading this.
Slightly moving 3d switch on old3ds (must switched in menu!) let me run games,progs with good sound (98000khz) output, with frameskip from auto to 2 frames.
Batman the movie is playable, R-type playable, Prophet64 (msiah) worked also.

The emulator could be optimized more, maybe switching to version 3.x.

Also today I've running UAE4All at good speed on old3ds too,but it is off topic.

Отправлено с моего A0001 через Tapatalk
 

Caronteone

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
25
Country
Italy
Thank you so much, 3ds is the perfet target for vice. I DO love it!

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Great, thank you very much, The best app I have on my 3ds <3
 
  • Like
Reactions: Elwyndas and Badda

Badda

Nu Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
303
Trophies
0
Location
Nirvana
XP
1,558
Country
Tokelau
New version 2.4 is out which mainly adds experimental netplay functionality apart from some minor optimizations and bugfixes. Haven't you always wanted to play Bruce Lee together with your friend but vice3DS can't handle two players at the same time? Well, now it's possible using netplay and two 3DS (however with some minor performance decrease ...) ;)

Changes towards v2.3 are:
  • enhancement: netplay is now possible
  • optimization: issue warning at startup if 3D-slider is not set to OFF
  • bugfix: no more sound errors on resume after pressing home button
https://github.com/badda71/vice3ds/releases
Have fun! :yay3ds:
 
Last edited by Badda,

Computer_Freak_2004

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
61
Trophies
0
XP
890
Country
Germany
Really nice work! Many games run with close to full speed on my Old3DS and most importantly the emulator doesn't crash anymore!
One question: After loading a snapshot some of the bottom screen buttons are missing! Is this intended?

2020-07-20_21-30-28-198_bot-bmp.218029
 
Last edited by Computer_Freak_2004,

Badda

Nu Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
303
Trophies
0
Location
Nirvana
XP
1,558
Country
Tokelau
Really nice work! Many games run with close to full speed on my Old3DS and most importantly the emulator doesn't crash anymore!
One question: After loading a snapshot some of the bottom screen buttons are missing! Is this intended?

2020-07-20_21-30-28-198_bot-bmp.218029
I can't really reproduce the issue. Could it be that your snapshot is from an old version of vice3DS? On your screenshot, I see that the only empty buttons are the ones that are mapped to specific keys. That means, you are loosing your key mappings when loading the snapshot, so I think your snapshot is from a vice3DS version where key mappings had a different format (pre 2.1). As a workaround, you could do the following:
1. save your settings before loading the snapshot (Vice menu: Settings management -> Save current settings)
2. load the snapshot
3. load the previously saved settings (Vice menu: Settings management -> Load settings)
4. save the snapshot again

That should fix your snapshot ...
 
  • Like
Reactions: Computer_Freak_2004

Computer_Freak_2004

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
61
Trophies
0
XP
890
Country
Germany
I can't really reproduce the issue. Could it be that your snapshot is from an old version of vice3DS? On your screenshot, I see that the only empty buttons are the ones that are mapped to specific keys. That means, you are loosing your key mappings when loading the snapshot, so I think your snapshot is from a vice3DS version where key mappings had a different format (pre 2.1). As a workaround, you could do the following:
1. save your settings before loading the snapshot (Vice menu: Settings management -> Save current settings)
2. load the snapshot
3. load the previously saved settings (Vice menu: Settings management -> Load settings)
4. save the snapshot again

That should fix your snapshot ...
Yes, that snapshot was from an older version of Vice3DS. I'll try your workaround.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim: like bro do something different, get some men