1. rsx

    rsx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    Noticing a lot of flicker (gyruss, gumshoe), is there a way to adjust this?
     
  2. Badda

    OP Badda Homo Sapiens
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Tokelau
    I noticed flickering when trying to run games made specifically for NTSC on a PAL machine and the other way around. You can try to switch machines and see if that gets rid of the flickering. Are you using N3DS or O3DS?
     
    Last edited by Badda, Feb 26, 2020
  3. MarioKartFan

    MarioKartFan Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2019
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    Algeria
    Wondering if this has to do with running PAL machine rather than NTSC. Switching machine mode to NTSC improves the smoothness but breaks down into hitching after a few minutes on my New 2DS XL.
     
  4. tomasowa

    tomasowa Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for this.

    Have been using this to play Adventure Genre games on my New 3DS XL USA and it works even better than on PC.
    The actual Vice 64 Emulator has a poor time with mice and apparently the 3DS is the best place to play these games with this Emulator available.

    Much appreciated.
     
    Badda and Elwyndas like this.
  5. Elwyndas

    Elwyndas GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    Would you mind sharing some of the titles you are playing?
     
  6. rsx

    rsx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    New 3ds xl. Using a usa system.
     
  7. Badda

    OP Badda Homo Sapiens
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Tokelau
    Did you switch machines (PAL <-> NTSC) and did that help?
     
  8. rsx

    rsx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    Tried it with a few pal and ntsc settings. No luck. There's also the issue of "Press play on tape" making a significant number of games unplayable. Load "The heist" to reproduce this error.
     
    Last edited by rsx, Mar 9, 2020
  9. Badda

    OP Badda Homo Sapiens
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Tokelau
    Ok, I would like to reproduce your issue - could you please give me a step-by-step guide? Also on your mentioned "press play on tape" issue ...
     
  10. rsx

    rsx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    Just go to your built in gamebase database. Find "Heist, The" and load it. It'll give a press play on tape error.

    As for the flicker, gamebase and look for "Gumshoe". Load it and walk round, go up and down the stairs.

    Gyruss is another one, lot of flicker. These are the few games I've tested.
     
  11. Badda

    OP Badda Homo Sapiens
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Tokelau
    Hm, if I load "The Heist", I get the following screen messages:
    "press play on tape", "ok", "searching", "loading ..." and the game starts correctly. Is there anything you do before you start the game with the gamebase64 launcher?
    I also checked "Gyruss" - this game is actually an NTSC game, but gamebase64 database states that it is PAL. This kind of error I already found many times in gb64 database :-( The gb64 launcher actually relies on this information to be correct because it switches to the right kind of machine depending on the type of game you want to start. You can, however, work around the issue like this:
    - Start the game in gamebase64 launcher
    - Open VICE menu and switch to "C64C NTSC" under "Machine Settings"->"Model settings"->"C64 model". This will reset the emulation but the game disk is still in the emulated floppy drive
    - Exit vice menu
    - Press the 'load"*"...' soft button

    This way, you load the game with the NTSC machine. I really wonder how to fix this issue. I could take out the convenience function in gamebase64 launcher that switches to the right machine - but that would "break" other games.
    Any ideas on this?
     
    Elwyndas likes this.
  12. Elwyndas

    Elwyndas GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    I can also load The Heist without problems. Have you tried resetting everything to default?
    The PAL/NTSC flicker problem with Gyruss is krass. When you go here:
    http://www.gamebase64.com/game.php?id=3370
    The game is listed as "PAL(+NTSC?)"
    I actually remember playing this game on my PAL system back in the days, and the flickering of the enemy ships seemed normal. Now I play it on NTSC and the flickering is gone. I also checked the REMEMBER crack of the game. It's a German cracker group, and this version also flickers on PAL. These talented guys would have fixed it if they noticed a problem with PAL. I really wish I could test this game now on a real PAL machine, but alas it's across the ocean.
    I was only able to test this on Vice3DS and WinVICE.
     
    SmashinGit likes this.
  13. krak

    krak Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Algeria
    Thanks for the GB feature Badda.

    There's a guy who's gradually curating a list of, subjectively, decent c64 games, although they are configured to work via a piece of Windows software called Launchbox I wonder if there's an easy way to link the list to the Gamebase db?

    Forums launchbox-app com topic 49324-c64-dreams-massive-curated-c64-collection/
     
  14. Badda

    OP Badda Homo Sapiens
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Tokelau
    I checked his collection before making the decision to move to gamebase64. The collection is indeed impressive and well curated, but it aims mainly at Windows PC users. The launch files and optimized input mappings are for PC, there is only one huge .7z-file to download the whole collection and the google spreadsheet where all games are listed is missing a lot of important information. In the end, it was easier to integrate with gamebase64 because they distribute a machine readable database which can be easily integrated with.
    If someone would convert the c64-dreams collection into a database that I can integrate with, I would be more than happy to do that. I would need the following fields in the database:
    - Game name
    - Release year
    - Genre
    - Publisher
    - Cracker
    - Language
    - Comments (e.g. instructions on how to play/start)
    - Link to screenshot image(s)
    - Download link (to a zip archive that contains all the game images)
    - Game image to start
    - Machine Type (PAL or NTSC)
    - True Drive Emulation required (yes or no)
    - Joystick Port Nr (1 or 2)

    I could even think of more data, like vicerc-settings that could be imported before the game is started (this way, you could define the ideal key mappings for a game). The possibilities are endless ... ;-)
    Building such a database is quite some effort though and it has to be an ongoing effort because the author is planning to continously extend the c64-dreams game list.
    Maybe someone is up for the job?
     
    arquillos and Elwyndas like this.
  15. krak

    krak Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Algeria
    Hah, no takers even during this quarantine period!

    I guess it was too niche of an idea.

     
  16. Kane1685

    Kane1685 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Canada
    I seem to be having some trouble running Gamebase64. I download it, and then I get a message saying "Cannot read gamebase64 database." Any suggestions?
     
  17. Badda

    OP Badda Homo Sapiens
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Tokelau
    Your gamebase64 database file seems to be corrupted - delete file /3ds/vice3DS-C64/default/gb64.db on your SD card and download again. Or if everything fails, just delete the whole /3ds/vice3DS-C64 directory ...
     
  18. Kane1685

    Kane1685 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok. I've already re-downloaded it, so I'll try replacing the folder.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Still get an error.
     
  19. Badda

    OP Badda Homo Sapiens
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Tokelau
    could you create an empty file called /3ds/vice3DS-C64/default/vice.log, start vice3DS again and post the errors in this file after trying to open gamebase64?
     
  20. Kane1685

    Kane1685 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright. I'll try.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Error - Could not allocate memory for database
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Release], Emulator), Vice3DS