1. Hambrew

    Hambrew GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    United States
    My issue with the whole "just convert to pbp" thing?

    I gave it a google, and found not a SINGLE "bin to pbp" utility with a GUI. Thank god that OP added .chd support and MAME 201b exists.
     
  2. Zense

    Zense GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,279
    Country:
    Italy
    Ah I see. The program is called psx2pbp and should be easy to find on the web. I've had different results with it depending on where I found it (even the same version numbers...). In case you need it I can upload the one that works for me.

    You might want to look into pbps too since, repeat what I've said before, some games run better when converted to pbps, likely because pbp has lossy audio conversion while .chd has lossless audio conversion. The best example I've found is Disney's Hercules whenever voices are heard in game.
     
  3. kkusagami

    kkusagami GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    Malaysia
    hey @Zense ,how can i use cheat on this forwarder?
     
  4. Sakitoshi

    OP Sakitoshi GBAtemp Official Lolimaster
    Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Country:
    Chile
    don't know from where did you got that info but is completely false, no (true) iso image can be lossy.
    pbp is technically like zipping a bin (or several if multidisc), if you extract a pbp you'll end up with all the data and audio tracks intact.
    chd has superior compression because it uses different algorithms for data and audio tracks, it uses 7zip for data and flac for audio.
    if you find that the performance is better with pbp it must be because pbp uses a more simple algorithm than chd.

    @Hambrew checkout the op, I added links to the mentioned pbp tools in the faq section. pbp come in handy for multidisc games so you'll still want to be able to create them.

    @kkusagami sadly no, cheats are not supported and aren't planed either.
     
  5. kkusagami

    kkusagami GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    Malaysia
    @Sakitoshi
    do you plan to create fps accelerator like epsxe like double or triple the fps in game or in the forwarder creator?
     
  6. Sakitoshi

    OP Sakitoshi GBAtemp Official Lolimaster
    Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Country:
    Chile
    what makes you think that is even possible when the poor 3ds barely achieves full speed on some games??
     
  7. kkusagami

    kkusagami GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    Malaysia
    really? Your Forwarder has better speed and audio than the retroach build though ,so i thought it could happen anytime sooner? well ,thank you for your hard work,i am appreciate it.
     
  8. wrettcaughn

    wrettcaughn GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,819
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone successfully made a working forwarder for Final Fantasy VIII? I’ve tried a number of different methods and haven’t had any luck. I load the game and it kicks back to the home menu.
     
    Last edited by wrettcaughn, Nov 1, 2019
  9. Hambrew

    Hambrew GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    United States
    hell yeah
     
  10. mal_

    mal_ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Austria
    I have the same issue for some reason. Games still have black screens for me and some just kick me off to the home menu. FF8 is one of them.
     
  11. 2qe6647

    2qe6647 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone has managed to get Castlevania SotN working with this system?
    No matter what I try I can't get it to work, at this point not sure if it is because it doesn't work with this game, I'm using the wrong EBOOT.PBP or the wrong files to convert, or the wrong setting in this or the psxtopsp converter

    If someone has managed to get it to run please tell me what were the exact file you used and the steps you did with the converters, almost all sites I've found to have the SotN "rom" have different files
     
  12. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,190
    Country:
    Austria
    I used a pre built EBOOT.php version from the internet.
    It´s called Akumajou Dracula X - Gekka no Yasoukyoku (English Patched) eboot.
    I use the standard settings for building the cia.
     
  13. efgedy

    efgedy Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Argentina
    could someone run "rival schools" with good fps?
     
  14. 2qe6647

    2qe6647 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I found it, I've built it with default setting and with max speed settings, with the psxonpsp660.bin present, it launches until the screen telling the translation is for free online. On the try with default settings it gets stuck there, and with max speed it just passes it but gets stuck afterwards in a black screen.

    I tried without the psxonpsp660.bin and it doesn't run, it gets stuck on black screen
     
  15. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,190
    Country:
    Austria
    That´s strange. I played until when Death steals your equipment with no issues.
    Maybe it´s the bios? I use the scph101.bin.
     
  16. 2qe6647

    2qe6647 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I will try with that bios.

    At the moment, I found some guy that distributes the forwarder cia though a hellscape of ads, I managed to get the qr code and try it, it runs decently, not perfect but good enough.

    I will try to forward it myself with that bios to try my luck

    btw, could you tell me the checksum of your PBP? just in case I didn't got the right one
     
    Last edited by 2qe6647, Nov 3, 2019
  17. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,190
    Country:
    Austria
    Got this ID from the download page: NPJJ-00489.
     
  18. efgedy

    efgedy Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Argentina
    it worked? I have the same problem
     
  19. Richter64

    Richter64 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Bolivia
    with castlevania sotn it happens to me that he doesn't save the games, does anyone know why?
     
  20. kkusagami

    kkusagami GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    Malaysia
    @Zense i have tried many conversations and still unable to boot ff8 ,are you able to boot ff8 ?
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Release], Forwarder, Creator