Hacking Region Free Wii Games offset not working with Preloader .27 and Softmi

Miles

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
368
Trophies
0
XP
210
Country
United States
Hello, I recently installed Preloader .27 and Softmii without any problems, except one.
The Region Free hack didn't work for me. I try to play Let's Tap and it says disc cannot be found, but when I use a GeckOS launcher, it plays fine.
I've tried the only two versions of the Region Free Offsets I could find, one came with Softchip, and the other I found in a Mediafire Link to a Starfall like hacks.ini (Can I even post that here?)

I can just use the GeckOS launcher, but I'd like to not switch pages when I want to play Let's Tap.

Thanks in advance.
 

Miles

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
368
Trophies
0
XP
210
Country
United States
WiiPower said:
You know that you can rearrange your channels by dragging them around with A+B?

I know, but my first page of Channels is filled with Wiiware and VC games I play a lot. (Not to mention Homebrew channel, Internet Channel, Disc Channel, etc.)
It's a minor inconvenience, so it's not too much of a problem if I can't get it working, but I'd much prefer to have disc channel play out of region games as well.
 

digitydogs

404 Error: Member Not Found
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
1,387
Trophies
1
Location
Md,US
Website
Visit site
XP
95
Country
United States
You have to use the ARC that comes with softmii if you didnt out of region games will not load from disc channel regardless of preloader hacks. If you did use ARC disable any preloader hacks for region settings as they cause fails, and only worked with original disks. Hence why they were pulled out of the hacks.ini released with softmii 1.0
 

Miles

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
368
Trophies
0
XP
210
Country
United States
I see now.
I started from phase 3 as suggested in the 0.9.5 Softmii guide since I had gamma installed already, so I never did that step.
Trying it now.

Edit: Works well. Thanks.
 

innercy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2006
Messages
787
Trophies
0
XP
703
Country
as i know, this hack is not perfect region free. i have 3.2u installing using arc with hack enable. it seem got several game cannot boot like wii play and bust-a-move.
 

yakboy

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 30, 2008
Messages
88
Trophies
0
XP
8
Country
United States
innercy said:
as i know, this hack is not perfect region free. i have 3.2u installing using arc with hack enable. it seem got several game cannot boot like wii play and bust-a-move.


More like broken region free. I can play NTSC-J games with out having to patch them big deal. It is cool that I can play JAP WiiWare with out having to worry about using Free The Wads but this is very far from true region free.
 

digitydogs

404 Error: Member Not Found
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
1,387
Trophies
1
Location
Md,US
Website
Visit site
XP
95
Country
United States
This is true region free if you follow all instructions and DO NOT use the preloader region hacks as they break compatibility. Wiiplay, works great, bust a moove, no issues...

The only time a game won't just work with this is if the disc doesn't include your video mode. and even then there are workarounds to make those work. If it works under gamma it will work through the softmii pack.

Of course old decrypted games from BL .1 will not play from disc channel no matter what we do...
 

yakboy

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 30, 2008
Messages
88
Trophies
0
XP
8
Country
United States
digitydogs said:
This is true region free if you follow all instructions and DO NOT use the preloader region hacks as they break compatibility. Wiiplay, works great, bust a moove, no issues...

The only time a game won't just work with this is if the disc doesn't include your video mode. and even then there are workarounds to make those work. If it works under gamma it will work through the softmii pack.

Of course old decrypted games from BL .1 will not play from disc channel no matter what we do...

I will have to give that a shot. I started it from phase 2 since I was already at 3.2 firmware. Just to confirm, I didn't need to do anything in the other 2 phases correct. You can please show me your NTSC hacks.ini file that you have working with region free?
 

feidhlim1986

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Messages
305
Trophies
0
XP
311
Country
digitydogs said:
This is true region free if you follow all instructions and DO NOT use the preloader region hacks as they break compatibility. Wiiplay, works great, bust a moove, no issues...

The only time a game won't just work with this is if the disc doesn't include your video mode. and even then there are workarounds to make those work. If it works under gamma it will work through the softmii pack.

Of course old decrypted games from BL .1 will not play from disc channel no matter what we do...

I have followed SoftMii 1.0 from scratch (updated to 3.4 first).
I have PAL Wii & a Retail NTSC Smash Bros. Brawl.
When I insert my Brawl Disc, it shows up in the disc channel but when I go to play I get black screen.
I would use Gamma Loader but I've found that after few mins playing it will always crash and give me a disc read error.
I had previously used FreeLoader when I first got Brawl to play, but FreeLoader no longer works, even on 3.2
 

BMasterP

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
147
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
DOESBURG
XP
215
Country
Netherlands
Did the same thing used arc that came with preloader, no other region hacks enabled(except for the gamecube and channel region free ones. and can't load wario ware smooth moves ntsc (pal wii)

this is my hack.ini

[Skip disc update check]
version=290
offset=0x813791F0
value=0x60000000
[Skip disc update check]
version=290
offset=0x813791F4
value=0x60000000
[Region free GC games with video mode patch]
version=290
offset=0x813778E0
value=0x900DA5D8
[Region free GC games with video mode patch]
version=290
offset=0x813778E4
value=0x38000032
[Remove diagnostic disc check]
version=290
offset=0x81373ADC
value=0x60000000
[No menu BGM]
version=290
offset=0x81365428
value=0x4E800020
[Region free channels]
version=290
offset=0x81506FC8
value=0x38000001
[Region free channels]
version=290
offset=0x813AE89C
value=0x48000028
[Region free GC games]
version=290
offset=0x813778E0
value=0x900DA5D8
[Region free GC games]
version=290
offset=0x813778E4
value=0x38000032
[Remove NoCopy protection]
version=290
offset=0x813BD1EC
value=0x7C000000
[Remove NoCopy protection]
version=290
offset=0x8134AAAC
value=0x7C000000
[Remove NoCopy protection]
version=290
offset=0x815993E4
value=0x38600001
[Remove NoCopy protection]
version=290
offset=0x813503E4
value=0x3BE00000
[Remove NoCopy protection]
version=290
offset=0x8134AABC
value=0x801D0024
[Remove NoCopy protection]
version=290
offset=0x8134AAC0
value=0x5400003C
[Remove NoCopy protection]
version=290
offset=0x8134AAC4
value=0x901D0024
[Remove NoCopy protection]
version=290
offset=0x8134AAC8
value=0x48000018
[Move Disc Channel]
version=289
offset=0x813A7D88
value=0x60000000
[Move Disc Channel]
version=290
offset=0x813A7E84
value=0x60000000
[Disc Area Check]
version=290
offset=81377B8C
value=0x4800001C
[Disc Area Check]
version=290
offset=81377BB0
value=0x60000000



this is for my pal wii 3.2e(after downgrade) with softmii and preloader .27(updated through wifi)
 

yakboy

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 30, 2008
Messages
88
Trophies
0
XP
8
Country
United States
Wow didn't know SoftMii 1.0 was out. The forums over there work backwards and show the first post last, more info here:http://wiinewz.com/forums/softmii/93956-softmii-v1-0-csm-alpha-released-10.html

I will have to try to upgrade from 0.95 to 1.0 and used the updated hacks.ini
 

innercy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2006
Messages
787
Trophies
0
XP
703
Country
digitydogs said:
This is true region free if you follow all instructions and DO NOT use the preloader region hacks as they break compatibility. Wiiplay, works great, bust a moove, no issues...

The only time a game won't just work with this is if the disc doesn't include your video mode. and even then there are workarounds to make those work. If it works under gamma it will work through the softmii pack.

Of course old decrypted games from BL .1 will not play from disc channel no matter what we do...

i do exactly like the guide except i didn't install cioscorp since i already have a modchip. do u think it got something to do with it?. if i install cioscorp will my backup run in 6x speed?.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Surround sound receiver is a good $300
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    True, but so nice for gaming, movies.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ancientboi is old he needs Walmart PA system
    +2
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    Splitter @ $39 it says. I'll consider it. Thanks
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Coupon makes it 30
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My gaming stick can finally get use
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I did see Walmart got new electric scooters now ab won't run out of juice in the middle of the parking lot
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    :O:O:O $12. Cool
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yeah but one two ports
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'd rather spend like $15 more for double
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Lol hogwarts legacy has a Arachnophobia setting to turn on
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I'd rather spend like $150 more for a surround receiver.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I bought the game at launch never fucked with it until recently
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Its fun, I like it, even tho I'm not a big harry potter fan. Like a wizard rpg. Flying around on a broomstick is cool.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Flying sucks ass on it
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Nuh just takes a min to get used to. I think you can upgrade or buy new broomstick also that are better.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I weirdly like inverted controls on all flying type games
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Prob can change it, inverted flying controls.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Only thing that annoys me is trying to find wtf to do in it
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Alright off to the store, later gators.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Some places amaze me were not in network with your insurance would you still like an appointment
    +1
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://youtu.be/bl2WTe7L-ts?si=NWkB17yWJeU8Whso