reading from ntfs?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kyle007, Jul 21, 2009.

Jul 21, 2009

reading from ntfs? by kyle007 at 9:01 AM (1,049 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. kyle007
    OP

    Member kyle007 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    come on i always hear its not possible lol, but i have a 1TB external I used partition magic to create a 8gb FAT32 partition just for testing. Anyways my point i added a single movie to the FAT32 partition and now GEEXBOX runs all my movies from my NTFS partition (Yes theres 100's and only one in the FAT32 partition so i know its reading from the NTFS partition). Anyone know why thats working? it even says its not supposed to on wiibrew
     
  2. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    geexbox has ntfs support because it's built into the linux kernel it's running off of. I run a drive with:

    Partition 1 ~180 gb wbfs - for my current and future wii purchases

    Partition 2 200gb NTFS - mainly movies and music. most standard XviD encoded movies work on it. I encode my decryoted VOB's with AutoGordianKnot and set the file size to 700mb. With that sampling rate it should work great.

    Partition 3 ~20 gb FAT32 that i use to store Wads that work perfectly from wad manager 1.4 mod and hopefully eventually I can get roms working on my emulators for it

    Mplayer CE does not and will not have NTFS support as well as any other media player apps for wii as there are no native NTFS Drivers unless the developer codes them. however, If you build your app on wii/gc linux the support is already built in since the wii is pretty much a mini power pc if i understand things correctly

    If anyone can give a better or more correct answer please do [​IMG]
     
  3. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah because this needed posted twice in a row, maybe even three times, double posting SUCKS
     
  4. kyle007
    OP

    Member kyle007 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for that answer Mark [​IMG] and its not my fault lol i accidentally double clicked and realized that it made two after, my bad happens to people all the time
     

Share This Page