Re-installing vista?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Primenay13, Oct 1, 2009.

Oct 1, 2009

Re-installing vista? by Primenay13 at 9:35 PM (966 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. Primenay13
    OP

    Member Primenay13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    My computer is completely jacked up, so I am going to re-install vista with the cd that came with my computer. My question is, will this delete my usernames and documents?
     
  2. CrimsoniteX

    Member CrimsoniteX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Country:
    United States
    Depends. If you pop the disc in, and select repair install, it won't. However if you do a clean install it will. If your computer is completely jacked up your best bet is to just backup your files, wipe the drive completely, and do a clean install. You will be amazed at how fast a fresh install can run [​IMG]
     
  3. Primenay13
    OP

    Member Primenay13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, well I dont care about files, but I do care about the users. If it wont save those then ill do a repair
     
  4. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Backup your files with a Linux Live CD. Don't want any old viruses passing on to your new install. [​IMG]
     
  5. Primenay13
    OP

    Member Primenay13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Where can I get a linux live cd? I have knoppix, which is linux on a cd. How can I backup my files and will it back up the users too? Also, I just tried to repair, but it said I have media devices connected but never have had anything connected.
     
  6. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    I'd just use Ubuntu as it's SUPER easy to use for n00bs (not that I'm saying you are but...).
     
  7. Primenay13
    OP

    Member Primenay13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Its ok I am a noob. But how do I use it to backup. Is there a program? I have it installed.
    My big question is though, Will it save the users for vista or just files. I dont care about the files but I DO care about the users.

    (see this proves Im a noob)
     
  8. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    1. Down Ubuntu's ISO.
    2. Burn Ubuntu ISO to a DVD with ImgBurn or whatever other ISO burning software you use.
    3. Put the DVD in the disk drive and reboot.
    4. Let it start up for a while.
    5. Once it's all started up you can go look at your hard drive as if you were on Windows.
    6. Copy the files (NOT PROGRAMS!!!) you want on to a USB stick or something.
    7. Reinstall your OS.
    8. Install your programs.
    9. Copy over your files.
    10. Be happy. [​IMG]
     
  9. Primenay13
    OP

    Member Primenay13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, Thanks. I got it running and im saving all my files onto my external hard drive.
     
  10. CrimsoniteX

    Member CrimsoniteX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Country:
    United States
    I don't quite understand what you mean... if you don't care about the files, but care about the users, why don't you just set up the users again after you reinstall the OS?
     
  11. DarkCamui

    Member DarkCamui GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Country:
    Sweden
    Why re-install Vista when you can download and install Windows 7 Ultimate lol.
     
  12. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, I would also think about getting Windows 7 since your going to delete everything anyways.
     
  13. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,265
    Country:
    Australia
    or a better solution, set up a pc to run windows server 08, use windows deployment to make a copy of build of your computer with apps and users, so when it screws up all you ever have to do is boot the server, get the screwed pc to boot from network and never have to think about reinstalling apps ever again
     
  14. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    That also would be great for backing up viruses! [​IMG]
     
  15. Myidentityisasec

    Newcomer Myidentityisasec Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    I agree. I have the beta build 7100 and I LOVE it. It's such an update from win vista
     
  16. Primenay13
    OP

    Member Primenay13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks guys, since this thread I have gotton Win7 and its GREAT!
     

Share This Page