R4DS Hardware Compatability?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Burningdollar03, Jul 9, 2007.

Jul 9, 2007
  1. Burningdollar03
    OP

    Newcomer Burningdollar03 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    California (Central Coast)
    Country:
    United States
    I have a small question about R4DS. I currently have one and am wondering if i were to buy a slot-2 device if it would 1) work with the R4 (i assume it would as it load slot-2, but want to make sure so i dont spend a bunch of money) and 2) if GBA Games work using an R4/Slot-2 Solution. I know that GBA Games dont work off of slot 1 only but do not know if they work using R4 with slot-2. I am thinking about going with the M3 Slot-2 Cart (as i heard R4 is made by the M3 Team) or does anyone have any recomendations about a slot-2 solution to play GBA games using R4DS.

    Also does anyone know if R4DS supports the new format of MicroSD Cards (i.e. 4 GB MicroSDHC) I know Cyclo does but not if the R4 DOes, i dont want to spend 100 dollars for it not to work.

    Thanks to all in advance.!

    [​IMG]
     
  2. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    2) You dont need a Slot 1 anything device to play GBA games from a slot 2 device. Only when you try and play an NDS rom you need a Passthrough or a slot 1 as a passthrough. I think that the R4/slot2 combo you are talking about is in fact a EZ 3in1 expansion, which is very popular. This combo actually allows for you to play GBA roms stored on your R4 by loading it to your EZ 3in1 using a special loader and works just as well as a M3but without RTC(RealTimeClock, this only affects pokemon and that can be patched.) The R4+EZ3in1 is so much cheaper than a Slot 2 M3 and can do everything possible on your DS and with the age of automatic DLDI patching, even homebrew is a lot more accessible.

    3)The R4 does not support SDHC cards but i heard that if you format 4gig cards in a certain cluster size, you will be able to play them(dont shoot me if im wrong [​IMG] )
     
  3. cheeo

    Newcomer cheeo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    It’s the other way around R4 makes the M3 Simply hardware, M3 slightly modifies each R4 software update to run on the simply. In short the M3 is just a R4 knock off that usually costs a bit more just because M3 stamps their name on it. And I would agree with xcalibur798 R4+EZ3in1 is a nice combo.
     
  4. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Apperently theres als been rumors going around that the M3 team have stopped producing the simply and are coming out with a M3 Real
    I hope its true, if you go by their reputation, M3 real should be great.
    A slot 1 equivalent of the M3 perfect...Maybe it'd beat the CycloDS
     
  5. Skye07

    Member Skye07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    R4 doesn't suport SDHC.
     
  6. Wang Zi

    Newcomer Wang Zi Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada

    i was wondering where did u fidn tis out? becuz i want a 4gb microsd that works with the R4.
     
  7. Skye07

    Member Skye07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    It's allover the place, SDHC is hardware, not just software. The R4 is made to be compatible with MicroSD cards, there's no hardware in the card for MicroSDHC cards.

    There are a few unofficial 4gb MicroSD cards but they seem to suck and are more expensive than 2x 2gb.
     
  8. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it could be possible that the SCDS1 might support SDHC cards since they have microfirmware in the hardware of the card, whereas othe flashcards run the OS from the memcards

    you could also get a M3 perfect, i heard that a chinese firmware update allows for SDHC

    why would you want a 4gig card anywyas? unless you wont have access to a computer for long you could easily just swap games
    a 2gig card could easily hold 30 games
     
  9. SkH

    Member SkH GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112
    Country:
    Algeria
    Or buy 2x 2GB cards...
     
  10. retman

    Banned retman Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    which can turn out cheaper than a 4GB SDHC card.
     
  11. thomasroberts6

    Member thomasroberts6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am [hopefully] getting a 2gb tomorrow... but im having second thought now. I dont really need it, i just want it.



    Badly.

    I think i have a problem.
     

Share This Page