r4 sdhc issue?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by jadc, Aug 31, 2008.

Aug 31, 2008

r4 sdhc issue? by jadc at 1:13 AM (5,559 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. jadc
    OP

    Newcomer jadc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    hi guys

    ive recently bought the r4 sdhc and im using a 2gb micro sd card i went to the ndslr4.com web site and download the recent file version 1.21 i copied them to my route of my micro card and put it in my ds turn it on and it loads fine but when i turn it of and on again it gets stuck at the load screen, any idea's why this is?

    thank you
     


  2. BKZ

    Member BKZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    you do realize that its a fake right?
     
  3. jadc
    OP

    Newcomer jadc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    nope why do u say this? if it is its going straight back lol i've jus opened the back of the cartridge and what should i see?
     
  4. BKZ

    Member BKZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    because there is no such thing as R4 SHDC only R4. Anything like R4-III or something like that means its a fake. That and real R4 do not support SHDC cards. They can only use up to 2gb max.
     
  5. jadc
    OP

    Newcomer jadc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    pix of it - [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. jadc
    OP

    Newcomer jadc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    update :

    by using the firmware from ndslr4.com , the game works but when i turn it off and on and again the loading screen stays there forever?

    so if my r*m works it cant be a fake can it?

    help please. is there any other firmware i can use ? i tryed the r4 firmware no luck with it tho
     
  7. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope, you've got to use the firmware from the clones "official" site. It sounds like it's corrupting the microsd card somehow when you switch it off and back on again. What kind of card is it?
     
  8. jadc
    OP

    Newcomer jadc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    sansdisk 2gb microsd clones?
     
  9. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you saying it's a fake sandisk 2gb microsd card?
     
  10. natkoden

    Member natkoden Not a New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    Argentina
    R4 clone, not sandisk clone
     
  11. jadc
    OP

    Newcomer jadc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    i meant is clone a firmware? the sandisk is legit, ive tryed a kingston 1gb aswell and still no luck ... i was going to try another firmware if anybodys nos of any? if that doesnt work its going bck
     
  12. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope, there's no other firmwares available. Clone just means it's a cheap and nasty copy - kind of like Nyke shoes or Adeedas clothing.

    If you can send it back then make that your first choice instead of trying to get this one to work. Get yourself a more modern card that's got a future. I've just replaced my R4 with a DSTT. You're also better off buying from a trusted site, there's plenty of recommendations on here plus the sposnsored links.
     
  13. ojsinnerz.

    Member ojsinnerz. Damned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    You've bought a horrible clone, called the R4 SDHC.

    The R4 team has said BILLIONS of times, saying that they never made any SDHC R4.

    And worst of all, the R4 SDHC doesn't take SDHC cards, and is actually worse than the original R4.

    If you want to buy a "legitimate" R4, then don't do it. Only retards, consumers that buy without researching, and fanboys, buy the R4,at this point. Even so, the real R4s have been stopped in production, so finding legitamate R4 new is very rare. Still, you can buy used ones.

    BUT STOP RIGHT THERE. Don't BUY a R4. You may get scammed again, and it's not even worth buying anymore. There are lots and lots of better carts that do much more at a cheaper price. Thus, there's no point of buying a R4 anymore.

    Get a Acekard 2, DSTT, or EDGE, ir you're low in budget.

    Get a CycloDS, if you want the best, with amazing features that the R4 will never EVER have, along with the top notch support team, but don't care about it's high price.
     
  14. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
  15. jadc
    OP

    Newcomer jadc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    can any of you guys recommend any websites to get legit flashcarts from?
     
  16. jadc
    OP

    Newcomer jadc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
  17. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    Just buy from the affiliates listed on the front page of gbatemp.
     
  18. jadc
    OP

    Newcomer jadc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    bought FROM DIGIZO.CO.UK
     
  19. Puppet Show

    Newcomer Puppet Show Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As has been said, it's fake.

    I have also ordered from Digizo in the past, they deliver pretty quick. Give them a call, and they'll probably send you the return instructions.
     
  20. skyman747

    Member skyman747 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    399
    Country:
    United States
    Since you are in the US, I would go with NXPgame.com

    If you are on the east coast, it can be delivered in just 2-3 days, and only 5 days for the west coast. The R4 I recieved from them appears to be legit. They are not shipping the CD's with the R4 (most likely legal issues) but you can easily download the firmware from R4DS.cn , And the CD's would probably have old firmware anyway.

    If you have the money, I would say to get a cyclo. From what I have read, it actually has a future as of now.
     

Share This Page