r4 problems

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by chidori13777, Jul 25, 2008.

Jul 25, 2008

r4 problems by chidori13777 at 7:57 AM (2,043 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. chidori13777
    OP

    Newcomer chidori13777 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    well i bought an r4 off of the itechextreme website about 2 months ago or so and i could't play this naruto and bleach game so i tried to update to 1.18 and no luck,just stays at loading ,and i tried the r4 sdhc websites firmwares which works but only letsa me play 4 to 6 times before it does the loading screen thing.the files it contains is _system_ moonshell the ax menu thing ds menu thing and the dsmshl thing the dsmenu.dat and introduction.so if anyone can help it would be much appreciated
     
  2. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    One thing that i can point out to you is that your R4 is a fake if you didn't know already.
     
  3. chidori13777
    OP

    Newcomer chidori13777 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    if it is infact fake,i'll see what replies i get,can anyone give me any site that has legit r4's cheap?
     
  4. g4med4d

    Member g4med4d GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Country:
    United States
    Try gameyeeeah. There's a link to it from GBAtemp's review page. Cost about $28USD exl ship.
     
  5. TeenDev

    Member TeenDev GBAtemp's Original Hipster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    633
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, try one that ships from North AMerica. Use Jandaman.com or dealwoot.com
     
  6. PyroJames

    Member PyroJames GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    R4's don't have SDHC support (yet) *knock on wood* so if your R4 package claims it does, it's fake. The current firmware version is 1.18 so if you upgraded to 1.18 and newer games still don't work, you will need to patch the rom (arm7.bin) or wait for the new firmware version; September 15, 2008. I know there are some games that still doesn't work with a genuine R4 running 1.18 without patching the rom (Carnival Games and Incredible Hulk for example.)
     
  7. paul3100

    Member paul3100 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol , i can't see why they are waiting till then to bring a new update out? (4+ months after the last!

    As i always say give the R4 a miss and buy one, supercard or cyclods are the best 2 and both sport basically the same features but are really cheap :-)

    paul
     
  8. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    Another great website is Realhotstuff.com(Based in the US). DO NOT GET THE R4-III on there though. I never really understood why they started selling those. Even then, most people recommend you not to get an R4 due to the fact they're old, no SDHC, and support is gonna be as good as it gets right now. You can usually getbetter carts for the same price with better support.
     
  9. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    R4 isn't that good, I consider you get a Acekard 2, DSTT, EGDE, Supercard DS One, CycloDS Evolution, M3 Real or iTouch DS
     
  10. pokemongalaxy

    Banned pokemongalaxy Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    717
    Country:
    Canada
    yep, at dx, dstts are only $20 include shipp. , and n5s are $14, but dont get an n5, they can brick your ds [​IMG]
     
  11. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Unfortunate for you you DO HAVE A FAKE R4 real R4 firmware kernel contains no AX MENU [​IMG]

    best thing to do Is see if you can send it back or sumthing [​IMG]

    It can use the official R4 KERNEL but its a lot of messing about patching the kernel to get it working [​IMG]
     
  12. PyroJames

    Member PyroJames GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I agree. It's been over four months since the last firmware update so let's hope that this next firmware update is going to bring some good news... like SDHC support. If it's just a regular firmware update that fixes 2 or 3 ROMs, I'm gonna get something with SDHC support.
     
  13. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    Unfortunately SDHC support is impossible unless they make a new cart.
     
  14. Raestloz

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Is it not possible to rewrite the internal kernel via a .nds file?
     
  15. chidori13777
    OP

    Newcomer chidori13777 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    i think i'll just buy it from game yeah or whatever it's called with the ez expansion thing
     

Share This Page