Hacking R4 card for 3DS no longer working

Muffinlives

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I've searched through the archives of this site and many others and tried several things to no avail. Hoping someone can help me... please keep in mind I'm a novice mom trying to get this to work for my daughter.

I purchased my R4 card for @$40 earlier this year. It came from www.r4i-sdhc.com and it has a truth inquiry sticker that seems legit. Reading some other posts the card seems to be overpriced???? If so, where is a good and legit place to get a new card (Q1)?

The card was working fine and then just stopped. It wasn't registering any card in the slot. My assumption is that my daughter did an update to the 3DS and it killed the card. There was only one game on the card - I'd been meaning to back up all her purchased games to the card so she wouldn't have to switch cards and lose or damage them.

I went to the site mentioned above and downloaded the latest Kernal which is v1.64b. I formatted the MicroSD card, loaded the new Kernal. Now, the DS shows a game is loaded (disney something) but when I select it, I get black screen than an error has occurred and I must power down.

Do I have any other options (Q2)? From what I read, it seems like I need to update the firmware but I can't figure out how to do that since it seems to be blocked.

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Trophies
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
Country
United States
1 - Yeah that's way overpriced. A decent card nowadays can be gotten for ~$19 or so from an import store.
http://gbatemp.net/t290097-which-flash-cart-should-i-get