Quick question on AK2i update for DSi 1.4

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by ToneEQ, Apr 16, 2010.

Apr 16, 2010
  1. ToneEQ
    OP

    Member ToneEQ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    South Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Trying to update my 4th AK2i cart on a DS Lite, when i remove and re-insert the cart, the DS reboots. This didn't happen on my first 3 carts and they all flashed fine and work on a DSi. Does it mean this cart has already been updated? I don't have a DSi around at the moment to test it out.
     
  2. Crunk

    Newcomer Crunk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    I would try putting the update .nds on the cart you're having trouble with and try that.
     
  3. jak larnak

    Member jak larnak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Not so far
    Country:
    France
    Update this cart alone with the "DSi" labelled file.
     
  4. ToneEQ
    OP

    Member ToneEQ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    South Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  5. jak larnak

    Member jak larnak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Not so far
    Country:
    France
    Yep this guide is kind of outdated...
    You can find a better one here.
     
  6. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The DSi does not allow you to eject the cart beyond the DSi Menu, while the DS Lite does. That's why the two firmware update files are named the way they are, both are identical except the DSL one allows you to eject the cart so you can unbrick another.

    In the Guide Jak has already linked to, I took all the 'blue screen' photos of the both updates in progress using a DS Lite.

    While both will run on a DS Lite, there's simply less chance of anything going wrong if you use the DSi file.

    As for your other question, no it doesn't already mean it's been updated. I've updated mine many times and it still goes to 100% progress and doesn't reboot.

    1st try using the DSi file. If that doesn't work, initiate the DSL update on one of your other Acekards then switch the carts as in the guide. Failing that it could be a clone.
     

Share This Page