Homebrew Questions regarding .cia files and regions

kanekils

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello, this might have been answered already but I can't seem to find an answer to my questions so I'm posting this thread in hopes it can be answered. I have a Japanese 3ds installed with the recent Luma cfw and I have questions regarding .cia files:

When a .cia file states that it is region free but has a region in the title, is it actually region free? For example, I'm planning to get Pokemon Y on my Japanese 3ds and it says Pokemon Y (USA) Region Free.

Can I play online with a region free cia game? Will I be able to play Pokemon Y online with the USA region free on my Japanese 3ds? Will there be a high risk of ban?

Sorry for the weird wording and all, I'm very new to all of this cfw scene. Thank you!

Lunar_Magika

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
from my understanding, homebrew allows region-free gameplay, so it should work (can't test tho as I have a USA 2DS and I'm not going deeper into "piracy land" than I already am, if it doesn't work try a Japanese ROM instead, risk of ban, IDK, but disconnections WILL happen, online should also work fine.

Omegablu

We shall not yield to the Kingdom of Nohr!
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello, this might have been answered already but I can't seem to find an answer to my questions so I'm posting this thread in hopes it can be answered. I have a Japanese 3ds installed with the recent Luma cfw and I have questions regarding .cia files:

When a .cia file states that it is region free but has a region in the title, is it actually region free? For example, I'm planning to get Pokemon Y on my Japanese 3ds and it says Pokemon Y (USA) Region Free.

Can I play online with a region free cia game? Will I be able to play Pokemon Y online with the USA region free on my Japanese 3ds? Will there be a high risk of ban?

Sorry for the weird wording and all, I'm very new to all of this cfw scene. Thank you!