1. kanekils

    OP kanekils Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Hello, this might have been answered already but I can't seem to find an answer to my questions so I'm posting this thread in hopes it can be answered. I have a Japanese 3ds installed with the recent Luma cfw and I have questions regarding .cia files:

    When a .cia file states that it is region free but has a region in the title, is it actually region free? For example, I'm planning to get Pokemon Y on my Japanese 3ds and it says Pokemon Y (USA) Region Free.

    Can I play online with a region free cia game? Will I be able to play Pokemon Y online with the USA region free on my Japanese 3ds? Will there be a high risk of ban?

    Sorry for the weird wording and all, I'm very new to all of this cfw scene. Thank you!
     
  2. Lunar_Magika

    Lunar_Magika Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    from my understanding, homebrew allows region-free gameplay, so it should work (can't test tho as I have a USA 2DS and I'm not going deeper into "piracy land" than I already am, if it doesn't work try a Japanese ROM instead, risk of ban, IDK, but disconnections WILL happen, online should also work fine.
     
  3. Omegablu

    Omegablu We shall not yield to the Kingdom of Nohr!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,138
    Country:
    United States
    CFW's have region free patching built in. Going online is a bit fishy, definitely a way to get banned but can work for a few games. Also, regions are given as often certain region games will only have certain langauges, as well as online issues.
     
  4. RookieKid

    RookieKid Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    I have another question regarding .cia now that the Freeshop has been closed for a while. There's now way to tell beforehand if a .cia is legit or not, like can the .cia file contain files that would corrupt your 3DS?
     
  5. whywhy2

    whywhy2 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    you can try install cia on citra emulator, if it doesn't work or if there's some error pop up then you may be have a bad cia. but from what i know, FBI could detect if the cia is bad or not so it wouldn't install if the cia is corrupted (i never have this problem before but if this happens to me, this is what i'm gonna do).
     
  6. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    10,932
    Country:
    United States
    cia files may have a checksum to verify integrity just like pkgs on the ps3. that's possibly one way to know if the cia is bad or corrupted. on the wii u and the ps3 (at least), content is installed to special folder (import on the wii u, and folder with date on the ps3), so it probably deletes the install if it errors as the game isn't located in its final destination.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Questions, regarding, regions