Questions about R4DS

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by wilddenim, Jan 1, 2008.

Jan 1, 2008

Questions about R4DS by wilddenim at 2:43 AM (2,935 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. wilddenim
    OP

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Owner of shameful FireLink Card. Yeah I know, save me some jokes please! Anyway, after trying my fiance's R4DS and got so jealous of it [​IMG] - so I decided into buying it!

    Right, here's some questions:-

    1. Can you view photos in your R4DS? If yeah, how do you do that?

    2. Moonshell unable to load - I know there's threads about this - but when I used search I just got messages saying not found! Would be awesome if you point me to one. Moonshell stopped loading halfway then error message came up.

    3. Can you view movies on it? Does they come with subtitles? My fiance - hard of hearing. Can you covert DVD into DPG? Yes, I did a bit of homework before posting this! [​IMG]

    4. How do you make a theme stay on R4 when it starts up? It keep going back to original (the one it came in with.) when I switch off the DS. And suffered some earaches from him!

    Thank you! [​IMG]
     
  2. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    1-You can use either Moonshell or DSOrganize to view pictures.
    2-Never heard of this problem, but maybe reinstalling the kernel or manually installing moonshell will help.
    3-Yes, you can view movies in the .dpg format, use DPGTools (comes with moonshell) or batchdpg to convert. BatchDPG lets you do subtitles.
    4-You press select when on the main menu, it should stay. Mine always stay, so if it doesn't i don't know what the problem is.
     
  3. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    For the moonshell problem, try turning off the soft reset in the games menu. Mine also didn't load and then I switched soft reset off and it worked from the middle icon. Or you may have to load moonshell manually from the games menu.
     
  4. wilddenim
    OP

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've since fixed this problem - I didn't copied the moonshell folder right. It was missing some files.

    Thanks for your help - much grateful for it [​IMG]
     
  5. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    What about the themes? Is that still a problem?
     
  6. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States

    You know....I hear a lot of people say this, but I never have this problem. I have soft-reset on and Moonshell boots just fine.
     
  7. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Must be just me then. [​IMG] My brother's works fine.
     
  8. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    Moonshell tends to break sometimes when you use root based Homebrew. For example: I installed QuakeDS on v1.13 and tried to read an FAQ I put on Moonshell, but it never loaded. So I tried reinstalling Moonshell. Still, no go there. My final option was to remove QuakeDS, and voila, it works again. Although I did end up reinstalling QuakeDS afterwards and it hasn't broken my Moonshell yet (although, other root based Homebrew seems to break my moonshell but all it requires in a reinstall of moonshell).

    Good thing I don't use my R4 anymore eh?
     
  9. wilddenim
    OP

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My fiance is away on a trip at the moment but he haven't mentioned anything about it since - so it must be all fine now.

    Still don't know about themes - I'll find out when he returns.

    How come you don't use it anymore, Grimalkin?! I'm considering buying them. Saw one with 2GB for £30. $60 in your money. A bargain! Only tried them for few minutes and thought it was one awesome piece!
     
  10. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    Cause I have an M3DS Real, CycloDS White(Black soon) and a DSTT as well. You could say I'm sort of collecting them.
     
  11. wilddenim
    OP

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seen reviews of CycloDS and it look pretty awesome and sounds cool too!

    But they are hard to get in UK. [​IMG]
     
  12. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    What I think is that the DSTT, M3R and Cyclo all basically have the same functions and features, just a few differences. Those are all good carts, IMO and any of them would be a good buy.
     
  13. wilddenim
    OP

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm, does they have 100% game compability as R4DS do?

    Just seen a website with DSTT and they come along with rumble pack. That would be awesome but I'm curious if they does work with most games?
     
  14. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Im not sure about the compatibility of a DSTT, but if you read the review I'm sure that you can find out. And the rumble pack is just a bonus. [​IMG]
     
  15. wilddenim
    OP

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just seen reviews of DSTT - 99.99%. Hmm.

    My FireLink just died on me. Only had it for 4 months. Fire Card really does sucks. It wouldn't start up at all now.

    I'm still split between DSTT, M3, Cyclo and R4. I'd love a pack with Rumble and GBA pak.
     
  16. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    The only game that doesn't work, as far as I know, is Contra 4 on the DSTT.
     
  17. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Yah, just read the review, doesn't boot.

    Side note: 1234 posts. Kinda cool. Yay?
     
  18. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    Congratulations DarkAura, you can count better than Capcom.
     
  19. wilddenim
    OP

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Any ideas on how I can fix DS Linker? It wouldn't start up at all and only starts if I'm very lucky (after 20 ot 30th of switching on and off.)

    Well, next goal would be 4,321 posts [​IMG]
     
  20. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    No, 1337. [​IMG]

    If you want help on fixing your DS Linker try another forum. Like the NDS Flashing Software one.
     

Share This Page