madman89

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi,
I am new to this homebrew thing, and just read the tutorial about installation for homebrew and usbloader,
but I still have some questions about formatting the USB HDD and the SD card
unsure.gif

I have new 500 GB Western Digital Elements Portable SE "WDBABV5000ABK"
and new 2GB Sandisk SD Card.

I am going to format my USB HDD into three partitions:
First partition XX GB in FAT32 for Homebrew
Second partition 250GB in WBFS for the usb loader
Rest in NTFS for general file storage
Will this pattern works?

And since I don't have a big hard drive, so I don't want to format the FAT32 for 30GB and only end up using 5 or 6GB.
(I saw the example in this guide(GBATemp Link) is 5GB. Will this be enough?)
So what is the suggestion size for the Fat32 partition?(P.S I wouldn't use the Wii for media player or anything else, it is only for gaming)
And what is the allocation unit size for the WBFS or will the WBFS Manger do it for u? Can the WBFS be defragment?

Also what is the format for the 2GB SD card? FAT or FAT32? What allocation unit size should be select? 32K
unsure.gif
?
or do I just leave it as what it is already been done?

BTW I just find out that many people have some issues with load up the USB powered HDD(), is that true? My 2.5'' USB HDD hasn't open up, so still can a make exchange to the 1TB Western Digital Elements Desktop"WDBAAU0010HBK"

Hoping someone can help in any way.

Please and thank you for any ideas in advance
yay.gif

madman89

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
ddetkowski said:
use modmii, use fat32 for both, ENTIRE drives. use wii backup manager, use FAT32 GUI formatter.

Thank you for your suggestion.
However I don't really like to use the FAT32 for the game,
because you have to split the game for than 4GB(I know there aren't much games over 4GB, but don't like to split the game).
BTW is the FAT32 GUI Fomatter for the SD Card or just format the FAT32 over 32GB, or for both?