Questions About EZ Flash IV

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by revron, Jan 16, 2011.

Jan 16, 2011

Questions About EZ Flash IV by revron at 1:50 AM (5,468 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. revron
    OP

    Newcomer revron Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    I am considering buying an EZ-Flash IV but I have a few questions to ask before I do that. First off, can I use the link cable if I am playing a ROM with it? I want to be able to buy two and trade Pokemon between two different versions with two GBA's and Two EZ-Flash IV's. Second, is it compatible with the GBA Link Cable for the Gamecube? I want to be able to unlock features in games such as Harvest Moon and I want to be able to transfer Pokemon from Pokemon Ruby & Sapphire to Pokemon Box on the Gamecube. And finally, I want to also be able to use it with the GBA Player for Gamecube (The one that attaches to the base of the Gamecube). Is it compatible with the GBA Player and if so will I be able to trade Pokemon between my GBA with an EZ-Flash and my GBA Player for Gamecube with an EZ-Flash? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. kuwanger

    Member kuwanger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    An interesting set of questions.

    I hope that helps a bit. Pokemon games are a tricky beast, AFAIK. I haven't played any, though, so I'm only speaking from the number of board postings requesting information. Then again, it could just be people tend to ask first instead of trying to wade through 50 posts to get one answer. I can certainly understand that. Certainly, a lot less people seem to ask such coherent questions. [​IMG]

    *The EZ-Flash IV requires games to be patched to save properly. For some games, that's irrelevant since they don't support saves anyways. Regardless, for most games the EZ-Flash IV's patching client also include a Reset Patch. I presume this was added because switching off/on the power is a great way to wear out that switch. In any case, since the reset patch to function has to poll the key input and link communication is rather time critical, the reset patch has a nasty tendency to cause games to act badly during link transfers. Hence, it's best to entirely avoid the reset patch on such games.
     
  3. revron
    OP

    Newcomer revron Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks alot for your help. That cleares up most of my questions/reservations. I'd still be curious to find out if if the gamecube link cable works with the EZ Flash. If anyone has both and can comment, that would be wonderful.
     
  4. kuwanger

    Member kuwanger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    Well, I know that it can work in the right circumstances (ie, (2) Link transfer in game) as I've done such. The real question is, how does Pokemon do transfers? Is it in game or does it (1) require setting the GBA into multiboot mode (select+start startup)? That should itself answer the question; (2) will work and (1) won't work.
     
  5. w1ll1am

    Newcomer w1ll1am Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone tried this besides me? I have two Gameboy SPs and two EZflash iV's and I am trying to trade between two different Pokemon Leaf Green games and when I try to talk to the lady at the pokemon center she just sits there and says please wait... or press b to cancel.

    I would really love for this to work I can not complete the game without being able to trade.
     
  6. kuwanger

    Member kuwanger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    @w1ll1am

    Did you try the suggestion of not using the Reset patch on the Pokemon games? I'm very curious to know if it actually works or not. If it does and you need to trade often, uou could do something like create one folder with the Pokemon game patched with save and reset patches and another folder with the Pokemon game patched with just the save patch; since the saves are stored in the Saver folder and it's keyed to the name, your save would be effectively be shared between the two different copies of the game. Then, it'd just be a matter of launching the one without a reset patch whenever you have a need to trade.

    Of course, if it doesn't work at all, I'd be curious to know as well. Some games have features (the Tiny Chao Garden comes to mind) that don't seem to work well, if at all, with the EZ-Flash IV. But most people just stop at the point of it not working with the default settings and not really commenting if there's a work around. So, I'd be really curious to know of your experience so others can find out what works or not instead of my simple conjecturing about things based upon my limited experience on a few games I know that do work.
     
  7. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,712
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    +1 to kuwanger's posts so far. If you want the if at first it does not work then cheat like hell method then http://ezflash.sosuke.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=16541 might be more what you want. Alas I am halfway around the world right now so I can not make any more right now (and I am now sure who, if anyone, passing by will have the gear to do so).

    I should probably also mention the migration patches for the DS games although the download page is down when I just checked.

    Short version- there have been issues with linking in the past but they can be resolved. http://ezflash.sosuke.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=16541 has a method that might work.
     
  8. w1ll1am

    Newcomer w1ll1am Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I downloaded a new copy of leafGreen from read the rules pl0x and used the IPS patch on it and when I loaded the game to my EZflash and tried to run it I got a message that said the save file has been deleted. So I am assuming that it is not working unless the rom I am downloading is pre-patched but i do not think it is.

    I would be really happy if someone could just make a .sav converter from EZflash iV to VBAlink I have searched on Google and can not find anyone that has made it work. It was even mentioned in the links that FAST6191 provided but no one got to it.
     
  9. ars25

    Member ars25 I like tacos and pie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    800
    Location:
    the world that never was
    Country:
    United States
    you could just import your save and vbalink will convert your save to it's save format
     
  10. w1ll1am

    Newcomer w1ll1am Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Okay I got it figured out. In order to get the save files to work in VBAlink I had to convert it using this website http://www.shunyweb.info/convert.php I selected the EZflash iV as the input and No$GBA as the output file. I used the the VBAlink version 1.8 and I could not get the trading to work I kept getting the connection error. I had to use the 1.7 edition to get it to work.

    Okay so here are the steps
    -first you have to download the .roms you need and the VBAlink 1.7
    -next you need to convert the saves you are using
    -now start two VBAlink windows and use the rom you want
    -import the .sav that you converted
    -when you start the game it will say that the save file is corrupt and it will load previous state and it loads your good save file
    -in both games go to the pokemon center and when you go to trade you need to make sure that the pause when inactive is not selected
    -speak to the lady and you will start into the trading area
    -you have to make sure that the pokemon you want to trade are in the same location in your six because you have to move both windows at the same time or the link will break
    -after you trade you can in game save and two saves will be created .sa1 and .sa2 they are located in the save location as the .roms I am pretty sure that .sa1 is the one you want put it back on the EZflash and change it to .sav
    -when you load the game the same message will appear save file corrupt but the game should load fine and when you save in the game again a new save will overwrite the old one and it will be good to go.

    I hope that is understandable lol.

    Two problems
    1 it is not perfect it takes several tries to get it to work and when you are trying to enter the save room you have to have a certain window selected not sure which one
    2 I have only tried this with leaf green and fire red it would not work with fire red every time i loaded the save back on to the EZflash it said save file has been deleted not sure why
    leaf green works perfect

    if anyone else tries this with other games or figures out how to make fire red work let me know.

    hope this helps
     
  11. Acru

    Newcomer Acru Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada
    A bit late, but I made a patch for the pokemon gba games that allow them to work with Pokemon Box...
     

Share This Page