Homebrew Question Question about overclocking

City Hunter

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Hello,

I am a father of 2 small children, so I use the Switch only on the train (I am living in Japan, so I spend long hours on the train during my commute to work) and during the lunch break. I never even connected the dock to my tv.

So with Dragon Quest XI coming now, I assume the performance in handheld mode will somehow be inferior to the performance in docked mode.

I already did a cooling mod (replaced thermal paste, added thermal pads) and now I want to overlock my switch so that I can enjoy DQ XI the best possible way on switch. Battery is not a real concern for me since I normally always have a powerbank with me. However, I am a newbie when it comes to overclocking the switch, so I have some questions:
  1. Which Tool are you using and to what level do you overclock and did you do it for a long time so it can be considered safe? Also do you use overclocking in handheld or docked mode? I would like to overclock in handheld at least to the docked settings.
  2. Do all switch Games use dynamic resolution, meaning the system will recognize a drop in fps and will lower the resolution accordingly?
  3. Do Games also automatically lower their settings when in handheld even if the clock is overclocked to the dock levels and is there a workaround to fool the game to always assume the console is in docked mode?
Thank you very much for your help.

GBADWB

Trophies
XP
Country
United States