Hardware PSP Display Output Cables

Xarsah16

GBATemp's Official Village Dingus/Idiot
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
722
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Hyrule
XP
410
Country
So - it has just come to my attention that I own the inferior of the two output cables that have been released.

I have a PSP3000 and I own a 32"? flat screen HDTV. I own the regular old AV cable seen here.
http://www.amazon.com/PSP-AV-Cable-Sony/dp/B000VIUNZI

I purchased it at the Sony store in New York City and the sales guy said it was fine to use with the 3000 version.

Is it worth springing an extra 10 bucks to replace it with this - the component version? http://www.amazon.com/Sony-Computer-Entertainment-PSP-2000-Cable-PlayStation/dp/B000VIPJ0W

FFVII - by today's standards the graphics are horrible - they didn't hold up well, but the cord seems to make them absolutely dreadful. (Bad to worse.) The game looks okay on my PSP's screen, but on the TV it is so blurry.

Would I get better results with the component cable, or would it sharpen the graphics too much making it even worse? I'm asking because when I plug in my PSP using the regular AV cable, the menu doesn't look too bad, but it could be better. I guess what I'm aiming for is for it to look as good on my TV as it does on the PSP screen.

Thanks!
 

BlackWizzard17

Don't worry Captin we'll buff out those scratches.
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2012
Messages
1,371
Trophies
0
Location
E-Arth
XP
1,673
Country
United States
What do you mean? What does that have to do with the cables?

Derp. I'll try other PSX games and my UMDs. I'm still convinced the display would look just as shitty.
Well I know that there is this app called Fusa sd and I gaits it could help with making the game look better I guess
 

Xarsah16

GBATemp's Official Village Dingus/Idiot
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
722
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Hyrule
XP
410
Country
Well I know that there is this app called Fusa sd and I gaits it could help with making the game look better I guess

I have CFW 6.60 Pro-B... but wouldn't this only make the game full screen? I don't see that improving the picture quality. I'm on their site now... It's also only for slim and lite psps - which is PSP2000. it says that on their site. This homebrew won't work for me - I clearly stated in my first post that I own a 3000 (brite)
 

Guerillaz

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 29, 2012
Messages
59
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
KEN-TUCK-KY
XP
168
Country
United States
You can still use the plugin as the 2000 and 3000 are roughly the same in that aspect. You could get the component cables but it would not help too much. The picture is going to be blurry regardless. You are stretching a image meant for at 480x272 screen to 1920x1080. It is going to blurry and you cant do much about it.

Maybe emulation will fair better results for a bigger screen? PPSSPP?
 

Xarsah16

GBATemp's Official Village Dingus/Idiot
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
722
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Hyrule
XP
410
Country
The component cable came WITH the PSP, so why didn't you just use it in the first place? o.o
My psp only came with a charge cord...
You must be lucky. I got the Assassin!s Creed Bloodlines bundle because of the pretty white system, and there was no component cable inside.

Thanks, Guerillaz. I'll look into the link.
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
28,292
Trophies
2
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
25,692
Country
Poland
The component cable (5 cords) is superior to the composite cable (3 cords) in terms of colour richness (three separate video channels instead of just one nullify a lot of interference). All you really need now is a working version of FusaSD and you can play full screen without sweat. Sure, it's going to be pixelated, but just about as much as you would expect - the same would happen if you'd connect an old school console and the built-in scaler would resize it to the TV's native resolution.
 
  • Like
Reactions: EZ-Megaman

Xarsah16

GBATemp's Official Village Dingus/Idiot
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
722
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Hyrule
XP
410
Country
The component cable (5 cords) is superior to the composite cable (3 cords) in terms of colour richness (three separate video channels instead of just one nullify a lot of interference). All you really need now is a working version of FusaSD and you can play full screen without sweat. Sure, it's going to be pixelated, but just about as much as you would expect - the same would happen if you'd connect an old school console and the built-in scaler would resize it to the TV's native resolution.

Widescreen never bothered me... But thanks. If I get around to it I will install FusaSD.

PPSSPP I will not do. No Mac OSX support. I don't game on my Windows partition. My computer can't handle it. It's also paid for the full version and It does not have support to plug in my psp for controls. I hate gaming on pc. I absolutely hate using the keyboard for gaming. It's just so not me.
 

blaisedinsd

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
1,105
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
616
Country
United States
I would like to try and install Fusa SD on my PSP3000.

Can anyone tell me where to get it? I could not find it through google.

I found some version that just locked up my PSP one time though......maybe it is not compatible on 3000 models.
 

esmjanus

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
53
Trophies
0
XP
369
Country
Mexico
  • Like
Reactions: blaisedinsd

Sakitoshi

GBAtemp Official Lolimaster
Member
Joined
May 8, 2012
Messages
2,240
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
behind a keyboard or a gamepad
Website
sakiheru.blogspot.com
XP
2,648
Country
Chile
Here is the official site with all the versions available: http://foosa.do.am/load/1
And there is a version modified by neur0n here: http://www.qj.net/psp/news/psp-homebrew-fusa-sd-for-63x-v1050b.html
Fusa SD will not work, she has CFW 6.60, I have a PSP go with CFW 6.60 pro c2 and doesn't exist a version of Fusa SD for 6.60, and for what I have seen, works in a very limited selection of games.
best option is connect the psp to a pc and use Remotejoy Lite then connect the pc to the tv, that is the only 99% compatible option to have fullscreen video output on psp games, you can even play with a gamepad connected to your pc, I have a custom version of Remotejoy Lite that supports filters to reduce the pixelation, once at home I'll upload it.
now if you only want to play PSClassics on the big screen, then the psp tv-out cable will work fine, the psp menu, videos and PSClassics works fullscreen, I play PSX DooM from time to time this way and with a dualshock 3 of course, because the PSP go can do that natively.
 

Xarsah16

GBATemp's Official Village Dingus/Idiot
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
722
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Hyrule
XP
410
Country
Fusa SD will not work, she has CFW 6.60, I have a PSP go with CFW 6.60 pro c2 and doesn't exist a version of Fusa SD for 6.60, and for what I have seen, works in a very limited selection of games.
best option is connect the psp to a pc and use Remotejoy Lite then connect the pc to the tv, that is the only 99% compatible option to have fullscreen video output on psp games, you can even play with a gamepad connected to your pc, I have a custom version of Remotejoy Lite that supports filters to reduce the pixelation, once at home I'll upload it.
now if you only want to play PSClassics on the big screen, then the psp tv-out cable will work fine, the psp menu, videos and PSClassics works fullscreen, I play PSX DooM from time to time this way and with a dualshock 3 of course, because the PSP go can do that natively.

I found a workaround for Remotejoy Lite - but .exe files don't run on Mac. Is this program resource intensive? I only have 1GB of RAM allotted to Windows because I don't use it for programs that require a lot of system resources. Since school has ended - I really just use it for Microsoft Paint and maybe occasionally hacking Pokemon ROMs with VBA since the Mac version doesn't have the features I need.

I found this link- http://www.dashhacks.com/psp/psp-homebrew/get-remotejoylite-working-on-660-pro.html but I would have to download the files elsewhere since they were on Megaupload before it was shut down.

Guess I'm just pretty much stuck with what I've got...
 

Sakitoshi

GBAtemp Official Lolimaster
Member
Joined
May 8, 2012
Messages
2,240
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
behind a keyboard or a gamepad
Website
sakiheru.blogspot.com
XP
2,648
Country
Chile
I read that Remotejoy Lite works well through Parallels, but if your solution consist in a virtual machine that should work too, isn't resourse intensive on the pc side since is only showing the images captured from the PSP unless you want to save the video on a file, on the PSP side is recommended to set the clocks to 333mhz/166mhz to minimize lag though, is barely noticeable when the clocks are set at these speeds.
you will need an audio cable if you want to pass sound too, only the video can pass through the usb cable.
is almost the time to leave my job, so I'll be uploading the files on a couple hours more.
 

Sakitoshi

GBAtemp Official Lolimaster
Member
Joined
May 8, 2012
Messages
2,240
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
behind a keyboard or a gamepad
Website
sakiheru.blogspot.com
XP
2,648
Country
Chile
here is the file, when the plugin is active and you connect the usb cable the pc will detect the PSP and you'll need to install the drivers that are included.
http://filetrip.net/view?FjwKetaKdc
when everything is set open the file "RemoteJoyLite_en.exe", right click on any spot of the window and you'll see the configuration.

EDIT: after a little more of research I found this, apperently is a version of remorejoy lite that someone ported to os x
 

Xarsah16

GBATemp's Official Village Dingus/Idiot
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
722
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Hyrule
XP
410
Country
Thank you, Sakitoshi! I will be posting back as soon as I try everything out.

I'll have to download IRShell too for my CFW in order to get the port to work - and I need to see what this is about.
 

Jayro

MediCat USB Dev
Developer
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
10,084
Trophies
3
Location
WA State
Website
ko-fi.com
XP
10,845
Country
United States
I found a workaround for Remotejoy Lite - but .exe files don't run on Mac. Is this program resource intensive? I only have 1GB of RAM allotted to Windows because I don't use it for programs that require a lot of system resources. Since school has ended - I really just use it for Microsoft Paint and maybe occasionally hacking Pokemon ROMs with VBA since the Mac version doesn't have the features I need.

I found this link- http://www.dashhacks.com/psp/psp-homebrew/get-remotejoylite-working-on-660-pro.html but I would have to download the files elsewhere since they were on Megaupload before it was shut down.

Guess I'm just pretty much stuck with what I've got...

Well your first mistake was buying a Mac... And as for controls, you can plug in a 360 controller, and most emulators are able to remap the keyboard keys to the controller.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Arm73

Xarsah16

GBATemp's Official Village Dingus/Idiot
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
722
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Hyrule
XP
410
Country
Well your first mistake was buying a Mac... And as for controls, you can plug in a 360 controller, and most emulators are able to remap the keyboard keys to the controller.

I'm sorry, but I really hate it when people tell me that "my mistake was buying a mac". I'm sick of the Windows OS - it was a personal choice I knowingly made, and Linux confused the hell out of me. Apple makes great computers for users who don't have an interest in building, taking things apart, or using Windows. Like me. I also prefer the OS - I was a windows user for years and I grew to hate it so much. Windows 8 infuriates me - and even Microsoft doesn't like Windows 8. (They ran Xbone demos on [email protected]) If you see a mac user - do them a favor and just respect their choice and don't think anything of it.

I've also got a 360 controller (the afterglow) and every time I use it, it crashes my computer. I think the plugin was poorly coded.
http://gbatemp.net/threads/mac-gamepad-companion-and-my-afterglow-xbox-360-controller.340468/

I'm still not really a fan of the 360 controller - I know. I'm picky. Oh well.
 

Xarsah16

GBATemp's Official Village Dingus/Idiot
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
722
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Hyrule
XP
410
Country
I'm sorry, but I really hate it when people tell me that "my mistake was buying a mac". I'm sick of the Windows OS - it was a personal choice I knowingly made, and Linux confused the hell out of me. Apple makes great computers for users who don't have an interest in building, taking things apart, or using Windows. Like me. I also prefer the OS - I was a windows user for years and I grew to hate it so much. Windows 8 infuriates me - and even Microsoft doesn't like Windows 8. (They ran Xbone demos on [email protected]) If you see a mac user - do them a favor and just respect their choice and don't think anything of it.

I've also got a 360 controller (the afterglow) and every time I use it, it crashes my computer. I think the plugin was poorly coded.
http://gbatemp.net/threads/mac-gamepad-companion-and-my-afterglow-xbox-360-controller.340468/

I'm still not really a fan of the 360 controller - I know. I'm picky. Oh well.

Arm73 Did you even read my post?

I reiterate - If you see a mac user - do them a favor and just respect their choice and don't think anything of it.
I've had FAR LESS problems with Mac than I have with Windows. Mods - please close this topic.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    oh boy oh boy oh boy i sure do love living in japan and being a mario fan, i just got the new expansion pack, i cant wait to do some bljs!
    +1
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    From what I've heard about the Expansion Pack, the emulator used has some noticeable input delay and/or lag...would BLJs even be possible?
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Apparently Nintendo adapted the 3D All-Stars emulator, instead of their old Virtual Console emulator - or, if nothing else, copying what fans have done.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    from what i can seem to gather there's some issues but nothing dramatic enough to severely impact what you're playing
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    honestly the whole expansion pack confuses me since i thought the nes/snes games were just a neat little bonus
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    wait julie your bf is a femboy holy shit im jealous
    +1
    Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    So many planes flying overhead, and they sound close...
    Gift
  • DJPlace @ DJPlace:
    do you need friends to play the games online for the switch exapsion pack i know snes and nes do.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    @El_Doot well hey hot people do get more benefits in life
    Gift
  • J @ Jephter:
    Please I need help with this. I just homebrew my old 3ds console and downloaded a CIA file, but after surfing through for only 10 sec or less this appears. please can someone help me? Thank you in advance.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Start a new thread in the 3DS board, the chat box is not the best place to ask for such advice.
    Gift
  • Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    A week ago I got a payment request, through PayPal, from "[email protected]", who wanted US$64.
    Scam? Cancelled it anyway.
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    The note added to it simply said "Lucky Charms?", too.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    They're all after your Lucky Charms.
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Hayato213 @ Hayato213:
    at least lucky charm is quite popular, probably my favorite cereal.
    Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    I wonder...how would the gaming scene have changed had the Wii (and its bullshit motion controls and criminally neglected Classic Controller) failed?
    Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    Microsoft certainly wouldn't have experimented with the Kinect, that's for sure. Would Nintendo have released something like the Wii U early?
    Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    That would've had a different name, so as not to tie it to its failed predecessor (something the Wii U dearly wished it has gotten anyway).
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    PlayStation 2 already had that EyeToy thing before the Wii, and a whole lot of games supported it. Microsoft would have had something like the Kinect even if the Wii failed.
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    Planning to buy a cronus zen to record inputs to negate mundane grinds/farming, anyone have it? How is it?
    Gift
  • E1ite007 @ E1ite007:
    For some reason, some Amazon reviews said it was a scam 'cause it launch there before they made an official launch on their webpage...anyway, according to people, it's good...it was gonna be my first option to buy when I wanted something to farm in games automatically, but then I backed down since tax fees and shipping would have costed me a fortune to Mexico...
    +1
    Gift
  • SaulFabre @ SaulFabre:
    Wii was a great sucess
    Gift
  • Gift
    SaulFabre @ SaulFabre: :P