PSP 2000 the same as Slim and Lite?

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by Foxstar, Feb 11, 2008.

Feb 11, 2008
  1. Foxstar
    OP

    Member Foxstar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey all,

    I am about to take the plunge and get a psp. I have seen a few on ebay and some claim to be a psp 2000 which has supposedly just come out on the market. Is this exactly the same as the psp slim and lite? Also i can probably can a second hand psp of my mate for $150, is it worth paying extra to get a new psp slim and lite? I am kind of tight on money but i feel that if i am gonna put money into a psp maybe i should just pay a bit extra and get a new one.

    Cheers.

    EDIT: Ha ha, i just looked through a few more pages of google and it seems 2000 is the same as slim and lite.
     
  2. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    They are the same, and psp can use skype, gomessenger, has a bit more ram, and has tv output for a start.
    most new things will be only for psp 2000 as well, so its worth it
     
  3. HyoImowano

    Member HyoImowano GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    It actually has double the RAM of the original PSP, the Slim & Lite is well worth it.
     
  4. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    PSP-1000 is the Fat PSP.
    PSP-2000 is the Slim PSP.

    PSP Fat has better homebrew support (for the moment), PSP Slim has double the RAM and SkyPE support, and obviously is slimmer and lighter [​IMG]
     
  5. TaMs

    Member TaMs Randomizer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Finland
    very unrelated to the topic, but is the gomessenger coming to phat psp also? [​IMG]
     
  6. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Are you talking about SkyPE? Sony said that for the moment they have no plans of porting it to Fat, because officially "Fat doesn't have enough RAM", but Fanjita proved the contrary by creating Furikup, a VoIP clone for PSP Fat and Slim.

    EDIT: Didn't knew what Go!Messenger was. Made a quick search and now I know [​IMG]
     
  7. MrGoogles

    Newcomer MrGoogles Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Germany
    yes in the new firmware it is included
     
  8. TaMs

    Member TaMs Randomizer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Finland
    I heard that it's there, but i don't have that icon. Running 3.90 m33, it should be the newest one?
     
  9. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Whoa, there's no need to be so harsh [​IMG]

    Go!Messenger is only available in 3.90M33 to European PSPs. Be sure that your region is set to "Europe" inside the Recovery Menu.
     
  10. TaMs

    Member TaMs Randomizer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Finland
    Sorry [​IMG]
    That worked, thx. my psp was weeaboo so the region was set to japan. Probably pretty useless thing when it ever it will be available, but whatever. [​IMG]
     
  11. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Don't worry [​IMG]

    Glad it worked [​IMG] It's only a placeholder icon, I think that Go!Messenger will be fully working only in 4.00 [​IMG]
     

Share This Page