PSone backups?

Discussion in 'General Gaming Discussion' started by epicelite, Dec 12, 2008.

Dec 12, 2008

PSone backups? by epicelite at 3:21 AM (1,733 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. epicelite
    OP

    Member epicelite Equal opportunity ass kicker.

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,477
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    If I was to just burn a backup to a DVD would I need to mod the PSone any to read it?

    PSone not PS1 slim console.
     
  2. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    I really doubt the PSone has a dvd drive.


    Sure if you know what the hell you are doing you could possibly you know mod the whole system and then reprogram the whole thing which would take a shitload of time, know how and money.


    Good luck and have fun.
     
  3. epicelite
    OP

    Member epicelite Equal opportunity ass kicker.

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,477
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    No modchips for slim?

    Also the discs say "DVD"!
     
  4. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,185
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    PSOne = PS1 Slim

    PS1 or PSX (even though it means a whole different system [​IMG] ) = regular playstation

    also there is no such thing as a PS1 with the DVD disk reader (any model)
     
  5. epicelite
    OP

    Member epicelite Equal opportunity ass kicker.

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,477
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    I swearz the discs say "DVD" on them!

    FFFFFFFFFFF

    I can't find crash team racing!
     
  6. stretch

    Newcomer stretch Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    That would be quite interesting.

    So epicelite, have you started?
     
  7. porchemasi

    Member porchemasi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    CANADA
    Country:
    Canada
    u cannot backup ps1 games onto a dvd

    u can if u want to read them on a PC with a PS1 emulator

    u could fit like 10 isos on 1 dvd if u wanted to
     
  8. mthrnite

    Former Staff mthrnite So it goes.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Location:
    th' south
    Country:
    United States
    The old PS systems were a piece of cake, cuz they had that expansion port in the back. Buy a "cheat" cartridge and you're done. The PS-One's are a pain though. Either you need to set it up for swapping. I use the Codebreaker cheat disk, but that's a pain cuz you gotta go into a menu, stop the disc, all that crap. A mod chip's the way to go.. even a simple one will do (7 wires I think.) Get somebody to install it for you if you're not good at soldering, those points are tiny. I raeped my system without even thinking about it trying to put one in it. Ripped a surface mount resistor cleeeeeeen off. Ouch.

    Just my 2¢.
     
  9. Apex

    Member Apex GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    茨城県
    Country:
    Japan
    If you have the ability to write and use dvds, then you probably have the ability to do CDs. Just burn them on CD's and mod your system I guess. Also, why don't you just use an emulator? Epsxe is great.
     
  10. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    LOL Ive done HUNDREDS of ps1/psx whatever you want to call the console .. BACKUPS and written guides on how to do it they are ALL CDR not DVDR its a CDR drive it will not even ENTERTAIN a DVD!

    You could however use a DVD in your PC only and store several PS1/PSX iso's on a DVDR as a DATA DVD disk for storage ONLY and that's about it ... you wont get them to run in a PS1/PSX ever like this you can just bulk store them like you would any data backed up onto DVDR [​IMG]

    In theory you could burn ANY image file you want to a DVDR but would be a pointless exercise as it would STILL not work in the PS1/PSX and would also be a pointless waste of space using 700mb on a 4.7gb Single Layer or 8.5gb Dual Layer disk [​IMG]
     
  11. epicelite
    OP

    Member epicelite Equal opportunity ass kicker.

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,477
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Well fine I can do CD too.

    How does a console even tell if it was burned?
     
  12. blainy

    Member blainy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    australia
    Country:
    Australia

    charred edges, and a lingering burnt odor
     
  13. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    it can!

    it scans track 1 if no track 1 is found then it does not boot the disk as a normal original game!

    track 1 contains information like regional protection and boot code and TOC data for the original game if its not found it fails!

    no public available cd burners can read nor write this elusive track 1

    on a commercial scale this track is pressed into the disk at the factory (some times called disk stamping) it does not use a burner at all!

    the ps1 mod chip injects this information and the regional protection/TOC data into the ps1 over and over and over until it boots the disk thus fooling it into thinking its booting an original!

    the swap method reads the information off the swap disk or the original disk swapping for the backup mid spin also fools the ps1 into thinking the copy/backup is the original game [​IMG]

    other protections added later on were libcrypt which again later was discovered to be burned into the disk subchannel data if this was repaired on burning the backup the disk would fail as it saw it as a corrupt!

    the workaround for this was to burn and NOT REPAIR THE SUBCHANNEL data thus keeping the Libcrypt data intact and the copy/backup booting!
     
  14. morcar

    Member morcar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i always wanted to know about that stuff about the PS1 and now i know ...thanks
     

Share This Page