1. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    I don't exactly know about this but you can always install the game to the HDD using multiMAN or any other backup manager and then you can just delete the update folder. It shouldn't ask for an update after that. This is just a brief explanation. If you need further help, feel free to ask.
     
  2. jassa

    jassa Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    If that definitely works, then that's pretty much what I'm after. Of course a method that doesn't require me to do that each time would be more ideal, but I'll take what I can get. Thanks! [​IMG]
     
  3. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    No problem! [​IMG]
     
  4. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,228
    Country:
    France
    You can also spoof the firmware version as if it was the latest available, then the Retail game won't ask you to update.
    Spoof version is usually available as firmware become available.

    But what Zorua said is very good (and that's what I'm using myself, I prefer using HDD instead of my retail bluray).
     
  5. jassa

    jassa Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Another question - last night I softmodded my PS3 successfully, but decided afterward to upgrade my HDD. With the new HDD in, it's asking me to insert a usb drive with fw 3.55 on it, so it can prepare the HDD for use. Should I use the original 3.55 (and then run the modified 3.55 afterwards), or should I just use the modified 3.55 now? I don't want to accidentally brick it!

    Thanks in advance.
     
  6. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    Install the original then install the patched firmware, just to be 100% safe.
     
  7. jassa

    jassa Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Worked like a charm. Cheers. [​IMG]
     
  8. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    Glad it worked. [​IMG]
     
  9. Devin

    Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,942
    Country:
    United States
    Anything I can do with a PS3 on 3.60 besides wait?
     
  10. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    Nope. Let me tell you that you won't have to wait much. See this article.
     
  11. Bmcs

    Bmcs GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    223
    Country:
    So, does it mean that 3.56 will become available to softmod too?
     
  12. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    You should update to 3.60. They're making the CFW for 3.60 because its newer.
     
  13. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,228
    Country:
    France
    Users still in 3.55 shouldn't update until 3.60cfw is officially released.
    3.56 users can update to 3.60 though, I don't think someone's working on 3.56cfw (except if it will need a 3.56ofw to install 3.60cfw? I didn't read the news around 3.60 yet (well, the one which wasn't an April fool))
     
  14. Bmcs

    Bmcs GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    223
    Country:
    Thanks for the tip [​IMG]
     
  15. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    Updated the multiMAN link to the latest version(01.16.13).

    * Added: new options in options.ini: [usb_mirror], [verify_data] and [download_dir]
    * Added: support for new version of "ebootFIX" tool (PSN-style XMB games)
    * Added: support for ™, © and ® symbols when renaming game titles (converts ™ ® and © to ™, © and ®)
    * Changed: Max number of games in the list set to 2048
    * Added: [START]+[SELECT] restarts multiMAN
    * Added: RELOAD.SELF to multiMAN USRDIR folder (this way multiMAN can be launched from other applications)
    * Added: support for XMB*.PNG images in themes (XMB0.PNG->PIC0.PNG, XMB1.PNG->PIC1.PNG, XMB2.PNG->PIC2.PNG)
    * Added: proper detection of spoofed firmwares
    * Added: /ps3_home/archive folder for .mmiso. experimental support (not available yet)
     
  16. Nujui

    Nujui I need something to do.
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Country:
    United States
    Mulitman has been updated again Zorua.

    Source
     
  17. ozl

    ozl Wii4everybody
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    Mexico
    So from what i have seen here is that if im on 3.56 i should update to 3.60 since there will be no CFW for 3.56 right?

    Good day people!

    xD
     
  18. ilman

    ilman Gbatemp's Official Noise Eraser
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,128
    Country:
    I have a question:
    How do you transfer a game from the external to the internal hdd?
     
  19. cobleman

    cobleman GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,482
    Country:
    If you are useing Multiman Press O and follow prompts
     
  20. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    Thats right.

    @Duskye: I messed up the version number. It was already the latest.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Softmod, Guide,