1. e398

    OP e398 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Brazil
    What the flying fuck. I switched the HDD. Installed FERROX, installed all games back, installed all DLCs. Logged on PSN, resigned all saves. Everything is pristine again so i went up to rebuild database cause it was like a shittom of games to transfer. Then the ps3 says the HDD is corrupted, what the fuck. Did the ps3 just ate the HDD like, is formatting the only option?
     
  2. MasterJ360

    MasterJ360 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,782
    Country:
    United States
    If the games aren't showing up or playable you are screwed here. I had a similar problem like in 2012 where the power went out while installing a game. The ps3 told me the same thing and games showed up with white blank icons. Formatting was the only solution.
     
  3. e398

    OP e398 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Brazil
    Everything was working fine but after i went to recovery to just rebuild the database it says its corrupted and needs to be formatted. I can't understand what is happening here.
     
  4. MasterJ360

    MasterJ360 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,782
    Country:
    United States
    Best thing I can tell you is try to backup your games/save files to an external drive before formatting the HDD. A corrupted database means formatting. If you switched HDDs thats probably the reason why you can't recover properly.
     
  5. e398

    OP e398 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Brazil
    Can't bypass the format page. Yes i switched HDDs and made everything from zero, can't figure out why this happened. Probably i'm stuck in a unrecoverable situation.
     
  6. YOUCANTSTOPME

    YOUCANTSTOPME GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    Canada
    I keep consoles with hard drives connected to a UPS for this very reason. I consider the purchase of a UPS to be like getting insurance for your consoles.
     
    MasterJ360 likes this.
  7. e398

    OP e398 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Brazil
    Damn. Well my best bet now is recovering the backups that i did with recuva. Sorting what games i lost and re-downloading them again. Since DLCs and other PKGs i still have the backup. My estimates are at least 200-300 gigs of lost data.
     
  8. MasterJ360

    MasterJ360 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,782
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I have one now especially for my pc. If anything most of my ps4/ps3 games are stored on an external hdd. Not that it's any safer but at least I have a better chance to recover them.
     
  9. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,637
    Country:
    United States
  10. e398

    OP e398 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Brazil
    Would be there a way to erase this flag? Like in my case i was unable to bypass the "let us format the ps3 warning". If FTP was active sure. But it was not active.
     
  11. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,637
    Country:
    United States
    maybe with the erk, the hdd, and a pc.
     
  12. ecto

    ecto Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Germany
    I've had so many problems with my PS3's internal hdd... Now, I'm makeing clones of the internal hdd almost everytime after a successful file system check.

    Btw. what size is your internal drive now? I has a 1.5TB drive installed at first, and whenever the PS3 wanted to do a filesystem check, it prompted me to reformat (even with a freshly formatted drive).

    Luckily, (iirc) I've never had a corrupt database that led to a mandatory formatting...
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - corrupted, database, restore