Professor Layton = Stupid Puzzles

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by ShadowSoldier, Jan 15, 2013.

Jan 15, 2013
  1. ShadowSoldier
    OP

Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

Canada
    I've been playing this game a lot recently, and I'm curious as to what you guys think of it.

Anyways, I started playing it, and I'm up to chapter 6, and I have to admit, some of the puzzles in this game are just bogus. For example, one puzzle that you are forced to do and can't progress further in the game until it's solved is there are 9 poker chips on a table in the order of

6 5 4
    1 3 2
    8 7 9

and you have to only move 2 chips to make it so each row, column and diagonal row equal 15.

I was stuck on this puzzle for a good 30 minutes. I couldn't figure it out. Nothing was working. So I thought I was just not seeing something.

Went onto the internet to look at the answer, and I walked away pissed off:

Warning: Spoilers inside!

What bugs me is the game makes no mention that you are able to do this and you also get no hints. With the rules being written, this was the last thing on my mind.

And there are a few puzzles like this where you basically have to cheat to solve the puzzle instead of actually following the rules.

Anyways what have you guys thought about the game? I think it's one of the weaker Layton games...

2. chavosaur

Reporter chavosaur Austin Trujillo

pip
    United States
    Havent gotten to this layton yet (own it, but wont touch it til I finish the others) But I have experienced that in the past layton games. There are some puzzles that have soloutions to where your just like "How in the world did you expect me to know I could even DO that."
    Ive actually run into that problem more then 3 times in the Diabolical box.

Nxenz likes this.
  3. Janthran

Member Janthran Solarian

United States
    Oh now you've done it.

4. Terenigma

Member Terenigma Terenigma everywhere

United Kingdom
    Layton has never been good since the first game.