Problems with SNEmulDS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by IzzyInfamous, Jan 11, 2010.

Jan 11, 2010

Problems with SNEmulDS by IzzyInfamous at 2:36 AM (1,661 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. IzzyInfamous
    OP

    Newcomer IzzyInfamous Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using an m3i zero card (running Sakura), and an american DSi.

    Pretty much every game I play is laggy, and/or has missing textures/layers/sprites/messed up fonts/the works.

    Is there something special I was supposed to do? I just tossed SNEmul on, ran the .nds file, and tried to run the roms, but no bueno so far.

    EDIT: The games I've tried so far are:

    Super Metroid
    Secret Of series
    Final Fantasy III and Mystic Quest
     
  2. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    You could fiddle with the graphics options a bit, since many games play better using different settings.
    But usually this doesn't change the fact that the DS is just not meant to emulate the SNES. There are tons of games that just don't work at all and very few games can be run perfectly.

    Here's a partial compatibility list: http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/index.php?tit...patibility_List
    Use it to see which of the games you are trying to play are even capable of being played.
     
  3. IzzyInfamous
    OP

    Newcomer IzzyInfamous Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you!

    What exactly is it that makes it so hard for the DS to emulate the SNES? RAM? Would emulating via the iPlayer make things work any better?
     
  4. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    Well, the SuperCard DS 2 seems to have a very promising SNES emulator. Only for DSi however
     
  5. RchUncleSkeleton

    Member RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I'm guessing someone just needs to figure out how to code correctly for the arm946 processor in the ds and we'd get a much more stable, compatible emulator for the snes.
     
  6. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    You have no idea what you're talking about. The emulator is already coded very specifically for the DS. It uses the DS's built-in 2D hardware to render graphics, which means that it takes very little CPU time to draw to the screen. A traditional software-based renderer would spend a very large amount of time drawing to the screen, plotting it pixel-by-pixel, which would become a major bottleneck. You'll notice that SNEmulDS has no frameskip options; this is because it would be entirely useless and wouldn't improve speed at all, since the processing time is spent almost exclusively emulating the CPU, not rendering graphics. However, the DS's 2D hardware isn't exactly the same as the SNES's graphics hardware, and so you get those graphical glitches and layering problems. It's the sacrifice he had to make to get it running at full speed.

    In other words, you could either get games running at fullspeed with graphical glitches or running at 40% speed with excellent graphics. Archeide chose speed.

    The issue, as always, is time and interest. Archeide simply lost interest, which is why the emulator hasn't gone anywhere. It's open-source, but nobody's taken on the project. Unless you wish to volunteer, there's not much that can be done.
     

Share This Page