Problems with R4 v1.18 kernel

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by saintvikki, Aug 14, 2008.

Aug 14, 2008
  1. saintvikki
    OP

    Newcomer saintvikki Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I downloaded this kernel from the R4 website,as most of the new games I have wont work,and there are no other updates on the website. Anyway I followed the instructions on how to download and install the kernel,and now when I boot up my DS it says: coudn't find ds menu.dat.

    Can this be fixed? Or will I have to buy a new card?

    Thank you for your help.
     
  2. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is there a file called ds_menu.dat on the root of your card?
     
  3. saintvikki
    OP

    Newcomer saintvikki Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Yes there is,there is also a file called DS_MSHL.NDS in there to.
     
  4. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're definitely using a R4 and not a R4III or what have you?
     
  5. saintvikki
    OP

    Newcomer saintvikki Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    It's an R4,it doesn't have R4III on the case. It's gray with a black and silver sticker thingy on the front.(if that helps any?)
     
  6. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. saintvikki
    OP

    Newcomer saintvikki Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Do I select all the files in the zip and install them all on the root menu of the card?
     
  8. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unpack them to a folder on the hard drive and then copy them over just to make sure that everything is copied over. Also sometimes the zip files have everything stored in a folder called English, if you just unpack the zip it could put everything in a folder called English on the card instead of the root.
     
  9. saintvikki
    OP

    Newcomer saintvikki Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    It did put everything in the folder called English,even after I unpacked everything to a folder I made on my hard drive,but still it made a folder called English. I copied the files over to the root but still no joy,it still says couldn't find ds menu dat.
     
  10. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's either a bad R4 or a bad MicroSD card then I reckon. Have you got another MicroSD card you can try?
     
  11. saintvikki
    OP

    Newcomer saintvikki Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    I don't have another R4 or SD card. Looks like I need to buy another card and SD card. Thanks for all your help,it's much appreciated. [​IMG]

    Edit: Could you recomend another card? Thanks again.
     
  12. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've only ever used a R4 myself, the popular choices though are the Cyclo Evo and Supercard One.
     
  13. saintvikki
    OP

    Newcomer saintvikki Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    I'm the same,I have only ever had an R4,though I am quite new to all this. Thanks for the recomendations though,I'll have a look into those ones. [​IMG]
     
  14. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not a problem. I'm ordering a TopToy tomorrow, heard good things about them plus they're cheap enough to afford even on the dole! lol
     
  15. saintvikki
    OP

    Newcomer saintvikki Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    I'm in the same situation as yourself. It's not easy trying to find a job after being at college.
     
  16. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just live in a crappy area for employment, way past college age now. If you're skintish then the DSTT is probably a good choice for you as well. Using YSMenu you can make it very R4 like, but the DSTT get's updated and what not. As much as I love my R4 I don't think we're gonna see too many updates in the future.
     
  17. Dark^'^Knigh

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    As you are new at this and, your posts aren't too clear on what you have done, I want to make sure you are doing it right.

    After you have unrar'd the R4 Kernel 1.18 to your PC, open the "English" folder to reveal:
    _system_
    moonshl
    _DS_MENU.DAT
    _DS_MSHL.NDS

    This is exactly how the files should appear on your microsd after you have copied them across. Do not copy across the "English" folder. Perhaps, even format your microsd 1st, as well.
     
  18. saintvikki
    OP

    Newcomer saintvikki Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Ahh,see this is what I did..*Slaps head* Thank you for the reply. I'll give it a try and post back to see if it has worked.

    Edit: I unziped them to the root of the R4,opend the English folder and had a look,the files all look like they should in your post. I am still getting the same promt as before.

    How do I format the SD card?

    Edit number two: Ok so i worked out how to format the microsd card,what do I do now?
     
  19. saintvikki
    OP

    Newcomer saintvikki Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG] I have fixed this problem now.(Thank god)

    Thank you all for your help with this,it was much appreciated. [​IMG]
     
  20. Dark^'^Knigh

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    Happy days are here again!!
     

Share This Page