Homebrew Possible method of creating a WEP for DS Game Servers!

PRAGMA

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2015
Messages
2,228
Trophies
1
Location
Ireland
Website
github.com
XP
4,888
Country
Ireland
So the method here is using Ad Hoc Networks but it doesnt seem to be available in Windows 10 which is the most used Windows Version at the moment

http://www.howto-connect.com/create-wireless-ad-hoc-internet-connection-on-windows-10/
But here's a sneaky way to get it to work

And here's the deal, If someone reputable can actually test this on a WPA network and test if they can connect via WEP using it, I will make a nice simple GUI .exe for quickly creating a Ad Hoc Network :)

Deal? ;)
 

hacksn5s4

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
4,332
Trophies
0
XP
1,282
Country
So the method here is using Ad Hoc Networks but it doesnt seem to be available in Windows 10 which is the most used Windows Version at the moment

http://www.howto-connect.com/create-wireless-ad-hoc-internet-connection-on-windows-10/
But here's a sneaky way to get it to work

And here's the deal, If someone reputable can actually test this on a WPA network and test if they can connect via WEP using it, I will make a nice simple GUI .exe for quickly creating a Ad Hoc Network :)

Deal? ;)
is their one for windows 8
 

pandavova

56
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Messages
900
Trophies
0
XP
2,060
Country
Germany
So the method here is using Ad Hoc Networks but it doesnt seem to be available in Windows 10 which is the most used Windows Version at the moment

http://www.howto-connect.com/create-wireless-ad-hoc-internet-connection-on-windows-10/
But here's a sneaky way to get it to work

And here's the deal, If someone reputable can actually test this on a WPA network and test if they can connect via WEP using it, I will make a nice simple GUI .exe for quickly creating a Ad Hoc Network :)

Deal? ;)
I can try to use it with my R4.... Would it work? And how should i test it? Or just in the 3DS Settings "DS Stuff"?
 

Wojton

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2014
Messages
180
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
219
Country
Poland
So the method here is using Ad Hoc Networks but it doesnt seem to be available in Windows 10 which is the most used Windows Version
That's incorrect, Windows 7 is the most used Windows version as of today, and for a good reason. Windows 10 is just a terrible OS. The only reason why Win10 has so high usage is because Microft shoves it down peoples throats and literally forces them to upgrade from Win7/8.1 with malware like GWX.
 
Last edited by Wojton,

hacksn5s4

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
4,332
Trophies
0
XP
1,282
Country
That's incorrect, Windows 7 is the most used Windows version as of today, and for a good reason. Windows 10 is just a terrible OS. Its even visible in such simple task as creating ad-hoc connection.
Windows 7/8.1 have a nice gui for creating ad-hoc connection and allow you to change its encryption settings with a simple drop-down list. Windows 10 on the other hand not only forces you to use command prompt to host ad-hoc network, but also, doesn't allow you to change its encryption/authentication settings at all. It's either WPA2 or nothing. And yes, I've just tested it. So this method is not usable for DS connection. Good thing I'm using 8.1 as my daily driver :)
how do you change encyption settings for adhoc on windows 8.1
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Small issue with this: you'll need to put your PC in DMZ mode (done via router); your DS wont be able to properly communicate otherwise.
Oh, and a Raspberry Pi could do all this :P - if you have a spare old router either, flash it with OpenWRT if you can and run a WEP connection off there (plug a LAN cable from a port on router to port on the LAN interface (NOT A WAN PORT), then turn off DHCP for your LAN interface and set a static IP which has the gateway and DNS of your regular router. Then, go to advanced settings and make sure it looks like this:
upload_2016-8-21_12-28-35.png
Then just setup your WiFi connection
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Share internet with your android phone (there is a way and I cannot remember it) and then turn on hotspot.
 

Wojton

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2014
Messages
180
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
219
Country
Poland
Nevermind, turns out that Win 7/8 don't allow hosting ad-hoc connection with WEP encryption either. I think it's possible however to do it with Connectify (I used to use connectify for that a while ago). Also, most of Android smartphones allow to tether mobile connection (3G/4G) through Wi-Fi without any encryption, so its usable for DS. Windows Phone, on the other hand... WPA2 or nothing. Thanks Microsoft.
 

hacksn5s4

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
4,332
Trophies
0
XP
1,282
Country
ar
Nevermind, turns out that Win 7/8 don't allow hosting ad-hoc connection with WEP encryption either. I think it's possible however to do it with Connectify (I used to use connectify for that a while ago). Also, most of Android smartphones allow to tether mobile connection (3G/4G) through Wi-Fi without any encryption, so its usable for DS. Windows Phone, on the other hand... WPA2 or nothing. Thanks Microsoft.
eh why can't you use third party driviers or some thing to use any security
 

Wojton

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2014
Messages
180
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
219
Country
Poland
See, thats the irony, it shows that the device supports WEP in ad-hoc mode, but that doesn't mean you can actually set it to WEP using netsh command. You have to use 3rd party tools for that.
 

Pacheko17

Controversial opinions guy.
Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2015
Messages
1,495
Trophies
1
Location
República Juliana
XP
1,812
Country
Brazil
That's incorrect, Windows 7 is the most used Windows version as of today, and for a good reason. Windows 10 is just a terrible OS. The only reason why Win10 has so high usage is because Microft shoves it down peoples throats and literally forces them to upgrade from Win7/8.1 with malware like GWX.

That is incorrect and you hate stuff because you love bandwagons.
Windows 10 is the most stable and fastest Windows ever to be put out, and I'm glad I updated for free and wasn't a fucking idiot.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    BlazeMasterBM @ BlazeMasterBM: what