Possible Full Brick, How Can I Fix?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by hankarlo, Aug 30, 2009.

Aug 30, 2009
  1. hankarlo
    OP

    Newcomer hankarlo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Ireland
    Hi all, my mate has just bricked his Wii doing a firmware upgrade. Its a full brick I think coz its just a black screen when you power the system up. He hasnt got preloader or bootmii or HBC installed, would it be possible to fix it, If I replaced his DVD drive, with my D2Pro modded drive & tried to get his Wii to boot with Any Region Changer autoboot-disk? Have any of yous tried recovering form a similar situation & succeeded? Im trying to gather as much info as I can before I attempt to fix it for him. I'd really appreciate any tips or help from anyone with knowledge of unbricking Wii's.

    Thanx for reading

    Hankarlo
     
  2. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    You can only fix the Wii if the recovery mode work and there is [c]IOS with trucha available.
    To see the recovery mode work you can use savemiifrii and if it didn't work you can't fix the Wii with your drive.
     
  3. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Was the Wii on 4.0 somewhen, and at 3.2 before the update from disc?
     
  4. hankarlo
    OP

    Newcomer hankarlo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Ireland
    Thanx for the replies guys...
    I think it was on v3.2e before the attempted upgrade. Is there any way of knowing?
     
  5. aabbccdd

    Member aabbccdd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Finland
    Upgrading from 3.2 to 3.4 sometimes if not always results in a full brick.
     
  6. Covarr

    Member Covarr Sentient Cash Register

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Far East of Eden
    Country:
    United States
    No, not always.

    Downgrade from 4.x to 3.2, then upgrade to 3.4 will result in a full brick.
     
  7. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    But only if there is an stub IOS installed(i think some tools know the problem and didn't install a stub IOS).
     

Share This Page