Possible Fix for Y USB Cable Problem

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by e3xtreme, Dec 29, 2012.

Dec 29, 2012
  1. e3xtreme
    OP

    Newcomer e3xtreme Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Austria
    Since the Wii U has a very poor USB Power Supply, we could make a connection between the Power Supplies of the 2 USB Ports inside the Wii U without much effort (but opening the Wii U and loosing Warranty)...

    So if I'm right the red connection between the USB Ports should solve the problem....
    I'm just asking for a second opinion before actually opening my Wii U and making a TUT.

    If somebody has already opened his/her Wii U and has sharper pics than mine, there is also a possibility of changing the Supply IC, but I cant read the text on the ICs
     

    Attached Files:



  2. driverdis

    Member driverdis I am Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,995
    Location:
    1.048596β
    Country:
    United States
    Whats the point if you can just use a Y cable. my workaround is to use the front and back USB ports with a Y cable.
    I plug the power only usb connector of the Y cable into the front USB port (yes, the front since it still provides power in WiiMode) and the data/power to the back usb port. problem solved without opening up the Wii U and bridging points.
    I have 1 port open on the back and am using a Y cable.
     
  3. e3xtreme
    OP

    Newcomer e3xtreme Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Austria
    Y cable is obviously the better solution, but for the more HW-Modding related it is an easy half an hour project without having a cable blocking a port, looking not to good and dont need to get an extra Y cable, just 2 little solder points
     
  4. petspeed

    Member petspeed GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    482
    Country:
    Denmark
    What about newer USB3 drives, I haven't seen any Y-cables with mini USB3 connector around anywhere.
     
  5. driverdis

    Member driverdis I am Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,995
    Location:
    1.048596β
    Country:
    United States
  6. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    This will give you 10v with 1A, so you will need a resistor duh.
    And only one port should be used if you are doing this..

    So this is no solution IMO.

    What's with these Y cables and the Wii U anyways?
     
  7. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,222
    Country:
    United States
    No, it would NOT give you 10v. I think you have your understanding wrong. The OP's idea would work fine. It would be capable of 1A at 5V.
     
    e3xtreme likes this.
  8. DeadMan

    Newcomer DeadMan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Ekaterinburg
    Country:
    Russia
    it's work, but if yo connect anoother USB device in port you use for got the power it's not work, can't got the need power, maybe a good idea is use active USB hub only for power line for USB dvices ? it's more simple
     
  9. e3xtreme
    OP

    Newcomer e3xtreme Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Austria
    But if you have a less power draining device it doesnt matter at all, moreover the disk needs the power only for a short time while spinning up....
     
  10. petspeed

    Member petspeed GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    482
    Country:
    Denmark
  11. e3xtreme
    OP

    Newcomer e3xtreme Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Austria
  12. winmaster

    Newcomer winmaster Weird Kid Who Still Plays Pokemon

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Here
    Country:
    United States

    That's because they are unnecessary. USB3 can supply the necessary power to an external hard disk with only one port.
     
  13. gundalf

    Member gundalf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Spain
    Well USB 2.0 also gives enough power for 2,5" external hard-disk, as long those are real hard-disks made for external use, and not those cheapo ones which just come with a regular notebook hard-disks.
     
  14. petspeed

    Member petspeed GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    482
    Country:
    Denmark
    That doesn't help much when you connect the drive to a USB2.0 port...
     
  15. Nemesis90

    Member Nemesis90 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    United States
    It actually does, i can confirm that.
     
  16. GabeCube

    Newcomer GabeCube Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Brazil
    Or, you know, you could do something even simpler like me, and connect the external hard drive to a powered USB hub that I had lying around from Rock Band and connect that to the Wii U. Works like a charm - using it with a USB 3.0 drive right now, since the end plug is backwards compatible with USB 2.0.
     
    bezem likes this.
  17. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,222
    Country:
    United States
    When connecting any 'portable' drive (2.5" based drive), to any USB3.0 port, the port will be able to supply enough amps to the drive through a single port no matter if it is a USB2.0 drive or a USB3.0 drive.

    That does not matter here though, because the Wii U has USB2.0 ports, so a Y cable may be necessary for any drive, whether it be a USB2.0 or a USB3.0, if the drive needs more than 500mA to operate.
     
  18. Scuba156

    Member Scuba156 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    Australia
    I can confirm this. I have a 500gb 2.5 inch external usb 3.0 HDD and while it does work, it unfortunately clicks every few seconds meaning it's under powered. I just picked up a few USB 3.0 Y cables of ebay to test it out
     
  19. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
    not always
    drive clicks might be caused by head offloading
     
  20. Scuba156

    Member Scuba156 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    Australia
    Not when it clicks every few seconds and starts spinning down and does it for as long as the drive is plugged in
     

Share This Page