1. DeadlyFoez

    DeadlyFoez XFlak Fanboy
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,914
    Country:
    United States
    I've had HDDs that were faulty that acted in the same manner.
     
  2. Scuba156

    Scuba156 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    as they do, its not faulty though either. its my NAS drive (untill I get the Y cable and swap it with the 3TB currently in my Wii U) and works perfectly fine with no clicks at all. Its just under powered.

    even though it's a 3.0 drive, it's still a mechanical HDD requiring at least 500maH, and if the Wii U can't privide that through it's usb port then it's not going to matter what USB specification the USB HDD is.
     
  3. DeadlyFoez

    DeadlyFoez XFlak Fanboy
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,914
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I understand that, as per one of my previous posts. I was just stating that faulty HDD's can sometimes also act same way.
     
    Scuba156 likes this.
  4. Scuba156

    Scuba156 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    the second paragraph was more for everyone, not directed at you
     
  5. DeadlyFoez

    DeadlyFoez XFlak Fanboy
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,914
    Country:
    United States
  6. Scuba156

    Scuba156 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    haha, fine, it was for your eyes only!
     
  7. lampjese

    lampjese Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I think that if you have a drive whitout power supply even if they work you should use a y cable.
    The fact that it needs more than it can deliver, can make your device hotter than its supose to be.
     
  8. winmaster

    winmaster Weird Kid Who Still Plays Pokemon
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    Then you could simply use a USB 2.0 Y cable. Regardless USB 3.0 Y cables are unnecessary because there is no instance where you will be using USB 3.0 and not having enough power, unless you are not using a standard USB device.
     
  9. Scuba156

    Scuba156 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    Not really. Most, If not all, USB 2.0 HDD's use a mini USB connection, while USB 3.0 uses a micro USB connection. So a micro USB Y cable is needed or a mini to micro adapter/cable
     
  10. petspeed

    petspeed GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Country:
    They use a special micro USB3 connector, different from some USB2 drives that use micro connector. I found this y cable that can be used for USB3 drives: http://dx.com/p/dual-usb-male-to-micro-b-male-y-connection-cable-1-8m-length-67383
    But the cable that driverdis linked to on the first page would be good as a universal y-cable for all type of drives.
     
  11. Scuba156

    Scuba156 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    well Its a micro-B port, a standard micro usb cable can be used with the drive. the other half of the port is usb 3.0 only so it can be ignored in this case.
     
  12. MHDEN

    MHDEN Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Would a USB hub with external power be a solution aswell ?
     
  13. DeadlyFoez

    DeadlyFoez XFlak Fanboy
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,914
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, but the downside is that the HDD would be powered all the time unless you shut it off. I don't know how much trouble it would give you if the the HDD went to sleep.

    On that same note, you might as well just get one of those desktop backup usb drives that have the 3.5" drives in the enclosure, I mean since you'd have to plug it in anyways.
     
  14. e3xtreme

    OP e3xtreme Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Australia
    mine didn't work, thats why I opened the thread, btw I'm still waiting for my Triwing Screwdriver, then a HOWTO will follow for all people that like to mod everything
     
  15. petspeed

    petspeed GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Country:
    Thanks, wasn't aware of that.
     
  16. GabeCube

    GabeCube Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Brazil
    Like I said earlier, I can absolutely confirm that a powered USB hub works. It's what I have been using so far. It doesn't work without it. And it's a USB 3.0 drive as well.
     
  17. Scuba156

    Scuba156 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    Just an update. I received my usb3.0 Y cable and it works perfectly fine as I expected. No more HDD clicking
     
  18. e3xtreme

    OP e3xtreme Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Australia
  19. Thomas83Lin

    Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,583
    Country:
    United States
  20. winmaster

    winmaster Weird Kid Who Still Plays Pokemon
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    Thomas83Lin likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Possible, Problem, Cable