Possible Discovery for a 3DS Exploit (Or Maybe a DS Mode Exploit)

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Shubshub, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. Shubshub
    OP

    Member Shubshub The Shubinator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    849
    Location:
    The dark part of your house
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I Decided to try something random so I Booted up My Pokemon White 2 Cartridge in my 3DS (FW 4.5)
    When the Screen goes black I Removed the cartridge for about 2 Seconds then put it back in and the game booted up normally

    Maybe if you could switch the cartridges fast enough it would load a different game?
     
  2. metroid maniac

    Member metroid maniac An idiot with an opinion

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,277
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. Giratina3

    Member Giratina3 Official Lilac of GBATemp

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    Leicestershire, United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sadly i do not think that is feasible.
     
  4. Shubshub
    OP

    Member Shubshub The Shubinator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    849
    Location:
    The dark part of your house
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Yea I figured that out now I tried to boot Pokemon white 2 then removed the cartridge and attempted to have it boot into Pokemon Black but it just stayed black screen although if u take the cartridge out and wait long enough it will show an error screen so it knows when you put a different cartridge in
     
  5. Chary

    Reporter Chary GBAtemp's #1 Naoto

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    3,098
    Location:
    Steins Gate World Line
    Country:
    United States
    It's a good idea, but what are the chances you find two games together that cause something, and that you can go from there and find an exploit?
     
  6. Sychophantom

    Member Sychophantom I'm a plant.

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,190
    Location:
    Born on the Bayou
    Country:
    United States
    If hotswapping led to an exploit, we'd have been dancing in our underwear on day one singing "lol free games!".
     
    unz, RodrigoDavy and Ron like this.
  7. Shubshub
    OP

    Member Shubshub The Shubinator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    849
    Location:
    The dark part of your house
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Well it could have led to an exploit except the 3ds shows an error as soon as you remove a 3ds cartridge (Well afaik anyway Because it did that with Mario Kart 7)
     
  8. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    If you press HOME then you can leave it ejected as long as you want and it'll still boot normally. Just in case you were wondering
     
  9. Shubshub
    OP

    Member Shubshub The Shubinator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    849
    Location:
    The dark part of your house
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Already tried that with Mario Kart 7 Came up with the error message (If i remember correctly)
     
  10. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    It only works with DS games.
     
  11. Shubshub
    OP

    Member Shubshub The Shubinator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    849
    Location:
    The dark part of your house
    Country:
    New Zealand
    You cant suspend ds games
     
  12. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't say anything about suspending them. Are you an idiot or just ignorant?
     
  13. Shubshub
    OP

    Member Shubshub The Shubinator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    849
    Location:
    The dark part of your house
    Country:
    New Zealand
    O
    Oh Right lol
     
  14. Shubshub
    OP

    Member Shubshub The Shubinator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    849
    Location:
    The dark part of your house
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I just tried that and it just returns to the home menu after clicking cancel if you eject and reinsert the cartridge
     
  15. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe it only works for flashcarts, dunno. I was pretty sure it worked for all DS games, but then crashed after you tried to do anything
     

Share This Page