Possible clone?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Datalogger, Mar 7, 2010.

Mar 7, 2010

Possible clone? by Datalogger at 7:54 AM (1,094 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Datalogger
    OP

    Member Datalogger Seeking to explain the IOSU for everyone to enjoy

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Location:
    Maui
    Country:
    United States
    I just received an Acekard2 ver2.1 from zeroshipping (who I thought was an approved Acekard vendor).
    I bought the Acecard to replace my R4i because I heard it works better.

    My DS is a DS Lite.

    I have come to the conclusion that either the Acekard2 I bought is a clone, or it is defective.

    I have followed the instructions posted here to the letter.
    I did not skip any steps.

    I tried using AKAIO 1.5, AKAIO 1.51, Acekard Official Version 4.21 RPG
    I tried three different MicroSD's (all of which work in my R4i just fine).
    And yes, I formatted the microsd's with Panasonic from here.
    I also did not copy any game saves.

    No matter what I try, I cannot get past the opening screen on most every game I try.
    For example, NeedForSpeed2, it freezes just before before the "Touch Screen to Start" screen.


    Before I send this thing back to zeroshipping in China, is there anything else I should do?
    My concern is, if this is what they are shipping from this place, I'd rather have another R4i for a backup.
     
  2. Datalogger
    OP

    Member Datalogger Seeking to explain the IOSU for everyone to enjoy

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Location:
    Maui
    Country:
    United States
    FYI


    Someone on another site reported that there are some bad Acekard's going around.
    They are not clones/fakes, but they are defective.

    This problem has been known since January 2010
    Thumbs Down to zeroshipping... 15 days to get it and they knew it was bad when they sent it!! [​IMG]


    http://normmatt.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=235
     
  3. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    You shouldve gotten a 2i, 2.1s are mostly defective since the start of 2010.
     
  4. penthaler

    Member penthaler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    mystique
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Try oficial acekard os version 4.07a15, it should work (just search this forum for link)
     
  5. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    This makes no sense what so ever.
     
  6. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Fixed my above statement
     
  7. Kinqdra

    Member Kinqdra GBAtemp's Official T-shirt

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Country:
    Croatia
    That's what i was thinking
     
  8. Datalogger
    OP

    Member Datalogger Seeking to explain the IOSU for everyone to enjoy

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Location:
    Maui
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for that, it sort-of works with 4.07a15, but it was bought to run 1.51 AKAIO

    I don't think 0shippingzone should be listed as an approved supplier.
    It steams me to no end that they shipped what they knew was defective. [​IMG]


    As is it, I'm sending it back for something else that I know works (R4i)
     
  9. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    You can do whatever you want. [​IMG] Next time since you are in the U.S. you could try RHS and ask them to personally test their cart first since they speak english. [​IMG] Not saying others can't btw. You won't have a hassle with shipping times and shipping back incase of problems.
     
  10. penthaler

    Member penthaler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    mystique
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    If you sending it back, dont take R4i, just CHANGE it for AK2i -> they have less troubles with bad batch...
     

Share This Page